Thursday, September 21, 2023

Matt Kenseth Attempting to Extend Record of Most Slinger National Wins

BRISTOL, TN – AUGUST 18: Matt Kenseth, driver of the #20 DEWALT/Flexvolt Toyota, stands by his car during practice for the Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series Bass Pro Shops NRA Night Race at Bristol Motor Speedway on August 18, 2017 in Bristol, Tennessee. (Photo by Jerry Markland/Getty Images)

Matt Kenseth, may not have raced in the last eight months, but he will be in the star-studded field that will battle it out for the checkered flag in the 40th-annual Slinger Nationals late model event at Slinger Super Speedway in his home state of Wisconsin on July 9th. Kenseth, who has an all-time record of seven previous wins in this event, will look to extend his lead in that category even further.

Kenseth first won this event back in 1994. He then returned after he started rising to NASCAR fame and won the event in 2002, 2006, 2008, 2009, 2012 and 2016. No other driver in the prestigious race’s history has more than four victories in the Nationals. According to Kenseth, this race has always been one of the biggest on his radar.

- Advertisement -

“The Nationals have always been one of the major events in all of short track racing,” Kenseth said in a Slinger Nationals press release. “Certainly, it was the one you wanted to win, growing up in Wisconsin.”

Kenseth, the 2003 Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series champion and 39-time winner in NASCAR’s top division, will face off against some stiff competition in a couple of weeks.

NASCAR Gander Outdoors Truck Series champion and current contender Johnny Sauter will race in the event, as will NASCAR Cup Series rookie Daniel Hemric, Bubba Pollard and Ty Majeski, who have won the last two Slinger Nationals, will also be in the race.

Notable past winners of this event that haven’t been mentioned yet include: Alan Kulwicki, Dick Trickle, Mark Martin, Rich Bickle and Kyle Busch.

Some of the other famous NASCAR names who have raced in this event over the years include: Dale Earnhardt, Bobby Allison, Neil Bonnett, Davey Allison, Dale Jarrett, Sterling Marlin, Kyle Petty and Rusty Wallace.

Toby Christie
Toby Christie
Toby is the Founder, and Editor-in-Chief of Toby is also the co-host of The Final Lap Weekly Podcast. Additionally, he is an award-winning writer, and has followed the sport as a fan since 1993.

Related Articles


Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Stay Connected


Latest Articles