Close this search box.


Brad Keselowski Swipes Talladega Win From James Davison In Pro Invitational Series

Drivers come to the green flag during the eNASCAR iRacing Pro Invitational Series GEICO 70 at virtual Talladega Superspeedway. (Courtesy: NASCAR)

In what looked like a Rick Ware Racing domination day ended with the Ford Mustang of Brad Keselowski taking the checkered flag in Wednesday’s GEICO 70.

Keselowski made a late race pass on RWR’s James Davison to claim his first Pro Invitational iRacing Series win, with Christopher Bell coming home in the second position.

Thanks to the win, Keselowski will receive a $5,000 donation to his Checkered Flag Foundation.

As for the entire race, the first half was not the wild, three-wide pack racing that fans are likely accustomed to. Much of the opening half of the race featured single file racing with James Davison holding a steady hand with teammate Garrett Smithley.

Austin Dillon and William Byron ended up tangling up in the the opening laps, sending the Bass Pro Shops Camaro spinning towards the infield.

FOX’s Clint Bowyer even found himself in some of the mixture after being turned off the front bumper of Daniel Suarez. The former Stewart-Haas drover jokingly said that Suarez was the newest name on “his list.”

As the race progressed past the halfway point, it wasn’t long before the infamous “Big One” would strike, thanks to contact between Corey LaJoie and Denny Hamlin.

Kyle Larson, fan vote winner Jesse Iwuji, Quin Houff, and Matt DiBenedetto were among those involved.

It wasn’t long for the next wreck was trigged, this time involving fellow FOX Sports in-race reporter Joey Logano. Chase Briscoe got loose in between Hamlin and Larson and an on-rushing Logano frisbeed into the outside retaining wall in Turn three.

A late race restart with two laps to go saw Davison fighting off Keselowski, but ultimately the glass slipper would break as the Australian driver fell out on contention in the closing moments. A late race charge from the Joe Gibbs Racing duo of Kyle Busch and Bell wasn’t enough to topple the Team Penske driver. Davison, who led 61 laps, would finish eighth.

Next up, the Pro Invitational Series will visit the Darlington Raceway on May 5th.


share it

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Latest Post

SLM ASA Kyle Steckly Anderson Redbud 400 2024 VL PC Reid Scott
Kyle Steckly Wins 58th Annual Redbud 400 for First ASA STARS National Tour Victory
Riley Herbst wins Indianapolis Pennzoil 250 post-race inspection complete 2024
Inspection Complete: Riley Herbst Officially Takes Win in Xfinity Race at Indianapolis
NASCAR Xfinity Riley Herbst Stewart Haas Racing Pennzoil 250 Indianapolis
Riley Herbst Beats Custer, Almirola for Statement Victory at Indianapolis
Anthony Alfredo Daniel Dye Parker Retzlaff Josh Williams big crash Pennzoil 250 at Indianapolis Motor Speedway 2024 video
Video: MASSIVE Crash Erupts With 16 Laps to Go Involving Dye, Alfredo, Retzlaff, Williams
Screenshot 2024-07-20 at 3.52
Video: Mayer, Allmendinger Make Contact; Triggers 12-Car Wreck on Lap 1 at Indianapolis
Trans Am All Star Race Podium
Andy Lally, Brent Crews Win SpeedTour All-Star Race at Lime Rock Park

Join Our Newsletter

Ready to have NASCAR news hand-delivered to your email daily?

Related Article