Close this search box.


Making Moves in Mid-Ohio: Previewing the Zinsser SmartCoat 150 at Mid-Ohio SportsCar Course at

Zinsser SmartCoat 150 Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course ARCA Menards Series
Zinsser SmartCoat 150 Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course ARCA Menards Series
It’s time for the ARCA Menards Series to turn left and right as they journey to the center of Ohio. PC: ARCA Racing’s Facebook Page

After several weeks of short track beating and banging, and some tempers to boot, the ARCA Menards Series opens it up to one of the longest tracks on the circuit, and journies to the center of Ohio for the Zinsser SmartCoat 150 at Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course.

The 13-turn, 2.258-mile road course has only been on the schedule since 2021 but has produced some action-packed racing, including last season’s event, which was partially run in the rain. 

Previous winners from the Lexington, Ohio-based course include Ty Gibbs (2021) and Taylor Gray (2022).

Rippin’ Up the Road Course

Looking ahead to Friday’s 42-lap contest, Jesse Love and the No. 20 Venturini Motorsports team are still sitting atop the ARCA Menards Series point standings. The 18-year-old driver has scored the victory in three of the last four events, including the series’s last event at the short track of Elko Speedway.

Last season, the Menlo Park, California native finished inside the top five at Mid-Ohio for Venturini Motorsports, driving the No. 20 Toyota Camry, just like he will in Friday’s race.

Joining Love from the Venturini Motorsports stable is the most recent winner in the ARCA Menards Series West, Sean Hingorani, NASCAR Craftsman Truck Series regular Dean Thompson, and Conner Jones.

Making his third straight main ARCA Menards Series start, and his fourth of the 2023 season, is Berlin winner William Sawalich. The ARCA East Series points leader has been caught up in a lot of the on-track beating and banging the past few weeks with the Venturini camp. So far, this 16-year-old has run two road course races in the West Series, with a fourth at Portland and a fifth at Sonoma.

Some of the NASCAR Craftsman Truck Series regulars are also hopping down to get some extra seat time this weekend. Tyler Ankrum and Hattori Racing will bring the No. 61 LIUNA Toyota Camry down to the track. This is Ankrum’s first ARCA start since 2021 at Watkins Glen. Joining him is his fellow Truck Series competitor Dean Thompson. The Anaheim, CA native has two starts in ARCA this season with two top-fives. He will pilot the No. 55 for Venturini Motorsports. 

Returning to the track for his second time this season is Zach Herrin. He and FastTrack Racing are joining forces again. This time, Lambda Legal, a renowned organization advocating for LGBTQ+ rights, and Rebuy Engine are teaming up to be onboard the no. 11 Toyota Camry. This is the third career ARCA platform start for the Glendale, CA driver. 

Other notable drivers include Andres Perez de Lara and Jack Wood for Rev Racing. ARCA West Series regular Todd Souza, Frankie Muniz who sits second in ARCA points, Ton Cosentino, Jon Garrett, and Tim Richmond among others.

Entry List – 2023 Zinsser SmartCoat 150 at Mid-Ohio 

EntryCar #DriverTeam Crew Chief
10AJ MoyerWayne Peterson Racing
River's Edge Cottages
Wayne Peterson
203Casey CardenClubb Racing, Inc.
Bill's Speed Shop
Alex Clubb
306Tim RichmondWayne Peterson Racing
Circle Track Wearhouse
Dan Lorz
42Andres Perez de LaraRev Racing
Max Siegel Inc.
Jamie Jones
54Dale Quarterley1/4-Ley Racing
Van Dyk Recycling
Alex Quarterley
66Jack WoodRev Racing
Velocity Racing
Steve Plattenberger
710Tim MonroeFast Track Racing
Universal Technical Institute
Tim Monroe
811Zach HerrinFast Track Racing
Lambda Legal
Todd Parrott
912TBAFast Track Racing
Dick Doheny
1013Todd SouzaCentral Coast Racing
Central Coast Cabinets
Michael Munoz
1115Sean HingoraniVenturini Motorsports
Monon Rahman
1218William SawalichJoe Gibbs Racing
Starkey / SoundGear
Matt Ross
1320Jesse LoveVenturini Motorsports
Shannon Rursch
1425Conner JonesVenturini Motorsports
Jones Utilities
Kevin Reed, Jr.
1530Frankie MunizRette Jones Racing
Mark Rette
1632Christian RoseAM Racing
West Virginia Department of Tourism
Ryan London
1745Tony CosentinoTamayo-Cosentino Racing
Tony Cosentino
1848Brad SmithBrad Smith Racing
Jeff Smith
1955Dean ThompsonVenturini Motorsports
Thompson Pipe Group
Cayden Lapcevich
2061Tyler AnkrumHattori Racing Enterprises
Jon Leonard
2166Jon GarrettVeer Motorsports
Venture Foods Stores
Mike Sroufe
2275Bob SchachtBob Schacht Racing
Engineered Components
Matt Wolper

You can catch the race live on Fox Sports 1. Coverage begins on Friday, July 7th at 6 P.M. EST.

share it

One Response

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Latest Post

Dale Earnhardt Jr. NASCAR Cup Series team 2025 Charter JR Motorsports
Dale Jr. and Kelley 'Still at the Table' for a Charter; Toyed with Running an Open Entry
Brad Keselowski Boston Red Sox paint scheme New Hampshire Motor Speedway 2024 RFK Racing NASCAR Cup Series
Brad Keselowski Piloting Special BuildSubmarines, Boston Red Sox Scheme at New Hampshire
Todd Gilliland Multi-Year contract extension Front Row Motorsports NASCAR Cup Series 2025
Front Row Motorsports Reaches Multi-Year Extension for Todd Gilliland
Harvick Featured Late Model 2024
Kevin Harvick Entering Late Model Events at Five Flags, North Wilkesboro
Parnelli Jones death 2024 Age 90
Parnelli Jones, Versatile Racing Legend, Dies Aged 90
Kyle Busch Brickyard 400 tire test crash 2024 NASCAR Cup Series Indianapolis Motor Speedway Goodyear Tire Test
Kyle Busch Crashes in Goodyear Tire Test at Indianapolis Motor Speedway

Join Our Newsletter

Ready to have NASCAR news hand-delivered to your email daily?

Related Article