Close this search box.


Rippin’ around the Road Course: Previewing the Portland 112 at Portland International Raceway

ARCA West Portland International Raceway
ARCA West Portland International Raceway
The ARCA Menards West Series returns to the Pacific Northwest and Portland International Raceway. PC: ARCA Racing’s Facebook Page

It’s time for a few weeks off for the ARCA Menards Series and ARCA Menards Series East, taking center stage in the meantime is the ARCA Menards Series West, which returns the spotlight for some road racing, and they’re bringing out some major names to the show this weekend.

This weekend will mark the ninth time that the ARCA West Series has visited Portland International Speedway. The series’ first visit was back in 1986 (K&N West Series) when Hershel McGriff took home the checkered flag.

Other, previous winners at the 12-turn, 1.967-mile road course include Jim Inglebright, Luis Martinez Jr, Greg Pursley, Jake Drew, and last year’s winner Taylor Gray.

Pacing in the Pacific Northwest

Looking to this weekend’s event, some familiar faces and big stars will be part of the field this weekend as the West Series shares the track with the NASCAR Xfinity Series.

Cup and Xfinity Series winner Cole Custer will hop behind the wheel of the second entry for High Point Racing, joining teammate Trevor Huddleston who sits fourth in ARCA West points standings.

Fellow Stewart-HAAS Xfinity teammate Riley Herbst also joins the field and makes his return to the ARCA platform for the first time since 2021, and his first West race since 2019. The Las Vegas native will drive an entry for Jerry Pits.

Other Xfinity drivers joining the ARCA field are Parker Retzlaff, driving the no. 02 for Young’s Motorsports, and Kyle Sieg, who takes the wheel for the Lowden-Jackson Motorsports no. 46 from RJ Smotherman.

While some of NASCAR’s stars are coming to share the track, there is still a good crop of ARCA West Series drivers fighting to show their strength this weekend.

Sean Hingorani is looking to go three in a row and pick up another win for Venturini Motorsports this season. The 16-year-old currently sits third in the points stands, only nine back of the lead.

ARCA East Series points leader William Sawalich is making the trip west for his second career West Series start with Joe Gibbs Racing and the no. 18 car.

Both drivers for Billy McAnally Racing, Caleb Sharder, and Eric Johnson Jr, will be making their West Series debut at the road course. Roxali Kamper will also join them for her debut in the no. 39 Chevrolet with Tuttle-Kamper Racing.

Other entries include West Series regulars, including points leader Landen Lewis, Phoenix winner Tyler Reif and his brother Tanner Reif, Todd Souza, Bradley Erickson, Kyle Keller, and Takuma Koga.

Official Entry List for the Portland 112

Entry#DriverTeamCrew Chief
102Parker RetzlaffYoung's Motorsports
Joshua Graham
204Ethan NascimentoNascimento-Joiner Racing
RAILBAR Protein Bar
Mike Nascimento
305David SmithShockwave Racing
Shockwave Marine Suspension Seating
Brandon Carlson
44Eric NascimentoNascimento-Joiner Racing
Fidelity Capital
Ty Joiner
55Riley HerbstJerry Pitts Racing
Jerry Pitts
67Takuma KogaJerry Pitts Racing
Loop Connect
Denny Moyer
713Todd SouzaCentral Coast Racing
Central Coast Cabinets
Michael Munoz
814Davey MagrasDavey Magras Racing
Advanced Autoworks
Zach Magras
915Sean HingoraniVenturini Motorsports
Mobil 1
Kevin Reed, Jr.
1016Tanner ReifBill McAnally Racing
John Camilleri
1117Landen LewisMcGowan-Cook Motorsports
Richard Mason
1218William SawalichJoe Gibbs Racing
Starkey / Sound Gear
Matt Ross
1319Eric Johnson, Jr.Bill McAnally Racing
Chuck Jones
1424Dylan LuptonBill McAnally Racing
Lupton Excavation
Roger Bracken
1532Dale Quarterley1/4-Ley Racing
Van Dyke Recycling Solutions
Alex Quarterley
1639Roxali KamperTuttle-Kamper Racing
Travis Kamper
1741Tyler ReifLowden-Jackson Motorsports
Tour Nevada
Tony Jackson
1846Kyle SiegLowden-Jackson Motorsports
Dave Jackson
1950Trevor HuddlestonHigh Point Racing
Jeff Schrader
2052Ryan PhilpottPhilpott Racing
Mattos Equipment Rentals
Chuck Dozhier
2155Cole CusterHigh Point Racing
Travis Thirkettle
2270Kyle KellerKyle Keller Racing
KISMIF Foundation
Brian Kizer
2388Bradley EricksonNaake-Klauer Motorsports
L&S Framing
Tony Caputo
2499Caleb ShraderBill McAnally Racing
Mario Isola

You can watch the Portland 112 live on FloRacing on Friday at 8 P.M. ET/5 P.M. PT.

share it

2 Responses

  1. It’s fascinating to see the ARCA Menards Series West returning to the Portland International Raceway after all these years. I remember attending a race there with my family when I was younger, the excitement in the air was palpable. Reading this preview brings back those nostalgic memories of cheering for our favorite drivers as they navigated the twists and turns of the road course.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Latest Post

Inspection Complete: Christopher Bell Officially Wins The Coca-Cola 600
TCResultsGraphicCharlotte (6)
Race Results: 2024 NCS Coca-Cola 600 at Charlotte
Christopher Bell wins rain shortened Coca-Cola 600 Charlotte Motor Speedway 2024
Christopher Bell Wins Rain-Shortened Coca-Cola 600 Over Brad Keselowski
Larson Indianapolis 500 Kyle Larson NASCAR Cup Series
Speeding Penalty Relegates Kyle Larson to 18th-Place Finish in First Indianapolis 500
Noah Gragson crash 2024 Coca-Cola 600 Charlotte Motor Speedway video
Video: Noah Gragson Done for the Day After Crashing Into Backstretch Wall
Kyle Larson Playoff Waiver Hendrick Motorsports NASCAR Cup Series NTT IndyCar Series Indianapolis 500 Coca-Cola 600 Indianapolis Motor Speedway Charlotte Motor Speedway
SRIGLEY: The Kyle Larson Waiver Question Has A Blatantly Obvious Answer

Join Our Newsletter

Ready to have NASCAR news hand-delivered to your email daily?

Related Article