Close this search box.


Ben Rhodes, Hailie Deegan Swapping Crew Chiefs Ahead of Truck Race at Bristol

Hailie Deegan Ben Rhodes NASCAR Truck Series ThorSport Racing Crew Chiefs Bristol
Hailie Deegan and Ben Rhodes will swap crew chiefs starting with Thursday’s UNOH 200 at Bristol. Rich Lushes will be reunited with Rhodes, while Brian Ross will work with Hailie Deegan. Photo Credit: Gavin Baker, NKP, Courtesy of Ford Performance

ThorSport Racing, a championship-winning organization, has elected to make another crew chief change ahead of Thursday’s NASCAR Craftsman Truck Series UNOH 200 at Bristol Motor Speedway.

Ben Rhodes, the 2021 NASCAR Truck Series champion, will have his third different crew chief of the season, as Rich Lushes rejoins the No. 99 Ford F-150 team for the final four events of the 2023 NASCAR Truck Series campaign.

Lushes had been working with Hailie Deegan as the crew chief of the No. 13 Ford F-150 through the opening 19 rounds of the 2023 NASCAR Craftsman Truck Series season, which resulted in a single top-10 result – a sixth-place finish at Texas.

Prior to being broken up at the start of the year, the combination of Rhodes and Lushes had seemingly gelled over the pairing’s two seasons working together, picking up the 2021 NASCAR Craftsman Truck Series title, and then finishing runner-up in points the next year.

In 45 starts working together between 2021 and 2022, the duo have secured three victories in the series, as well as 16 top-five results, and 29 results inside the top-10, en route to two of Rhodes’ best seasons in the NASCAR Truck Series.

Brian Ross, who was brought on to serve as crew chief of the No. 99 following a victory at Charlotte Motor Speedway, will jump over to ThorSport Racing’s No. 13 Ford F-150 for the final four events of the year at Bristol, Talladega, Homestead, and Phoenix.

With the crew chief swap between Rhodes and Deegan, and the four-race suspension of Joe Shear, Jr. following an L2-level penalty at Milwaukee, none of the four full-time entries for ThorSport Racing will have the crew chiefs at Bristol, that they started the year with.

share it

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Latest Post

Front Row Motorsports Charter 2025 Three car NASCAR Cup Series team
Front Row Motorsports Acquires Charter; Expanding to Three Cup Teams in 2025
Austin Hill penalty 2024 BetMGM 300 Charlotte Motor Speedway Cole Custer 25 points fined 25,000
Austin Hill Docked 25 Points and Fined for Charlotte Incident With Cole Custer
AM Racing, Joe Williams Part Ways; Lucas to Serve as Interim Crew Chief for No. 15
Hitting The Oregon Trail: Previewing The Portland 112
Stewart-Haas Racing to Close Doors Following 2024 Season
TCResultsGraphicCharlotte (7)
Entry List: 2024 NCTS Toyota 200 at WWT Raceway

Join Our Newsletter

Ready to have NASCAR news hand-delivered to your email daily?

Related Article