Close this search box.


Kevin Lacroix Makes Full-Contact Last-Lap Pass on Gary Klutt for Pinty’s Win at CTMP

Kevin Lacroix wins 2022 NASCAR pinty's race at Canadian Tire Motorsports Park over Gary Klutt last lap crash race recap
Kevin Lacroix laid the bumper to Gary Klutt to score the win in the NASCAR Pinty’s Series race at Canadian Tire Motorsports Park. PC: Damin Sawyer |

On Sunday, the NASCAR Pinty’s Series took to Canadian Tire Motorsports Park for the first road course event of the 2022 season, one week after a fantastic start to the season at Sunset Speedway.

In another tantalizing finish, Kevin Lacroix took his 15th career victory in the NASCAR Pinty’s Series and his sixth at 2.459-mile road course, after making a last-lap rebound on Gary Klutt in NASCAR Overtime.

Klutt was able to initially clear Lacroix on the final restart of the event, but couldn’t thwart the bumper-beating advances of the Saint-Eustache, Quebec-native, eventually getting spun around in the final corner, after multiple instances of contact.

Video: Chaos Erupts As Kevin Lacroix Dumps Gary Klutt on Final Lap for NASCAR Pinty’s Win at Canadian Tire Motorsports Park

Alex Tagliani and Dexter Stacey would sneak through the chaos for second and third-place results, with Gary Klutt finding himself as the fourth-place finisher, the last car on the lead lap. LP Montour rounded out the top five.

In reality, the weekend was largely influenced by Mother Nature, between an intense thunderstorm rolling through the area on Sunday, and the overnight precipitation forcing a wet start for Sunday’s 51-lap contest.

LP Dumoulin, the defending champion of the NASCAR Pinty’s Series, would start on pole by virtue of leading Saturday’s practice session, but would quickly lose the lead to Marc-Antoine Camirand in the early portion of the event.

As the track’s moisture lessened, Kevin Lacroix and Andrew Ranger inserted themselves into the conversation for the victory, taking advantage of a flat tire by Camirand to take control of the race.

In due time, that control would fall solely to Kevin Lacroix, after Ranger’s No. 27 Chevrolet Camaro was forced to retire from the event after an oil pan failure, relegating the Pinty’s Series champion to a 24th-place finish.


Throughout the final laps, Lacroix looked to handily have the victory in hand, before a full-course caution with five laps to go, tightened what was an insurmountable gap, nearing 40 seconds.

Thus began a run of two NASCAR Overtime restarts, the first of which was cut short because of an accident between Ray Junior Courtemanche, Peter Klutt, and LP Dumoulin.

Treyten Lapcevich finished in sixth, with LP Dumoulin, Brandon Watson, JP Bergeron, and Larry Jackson rounding out the top-10 finishers.

Heading to the NASCAR Pinty’s Series’ third event of the 2022 season at Autodrome Chaudiere, Kevin Lacroix holds a three-point lead over Treyten Lapcevich – the series’ winner at Sunset Speedway.

Alex Tagliani, Brandon Watson, and Gary Klutt currently sit inside the top five in points.

RESULTS: NASCAR Pinty’s Series at CTMP

  1. No. 74 – Kevin Lacroix
  2. No. 18 – Alex Tagliani
  3. No. 92 – Dexter Stacey
  4. No. 59 – Gary Klutt
  5. No. 13 – LP Montour
  6. No. 20 – Treyten Lapcevich
  7. No. 47 – LP Dumoulin
  8. No. 9 – Brandon Watson
  9. No. 1 – JP Bergeron
  10. No. 84 – Larry Jackson
  11. No. 17 – DJ Kennington
  12. No. 31 – Daniel Bois
  13. No. 3 – Brett Taylor
  14. No. 96 – Marc-Antoine Camirand
  15. No. 64 – Mark Dilley
  16. No. 2 – TJ Rinomato
  17. No. 6 – Peter Klutt
  18. No. 0 – Glenn Styres
  19. No. 66 – Wallace Stacey
  20. No. 71 – Bryan Cathcart
  21. No. 61 – Brent Wheller
  22. No. 99 – Matthew Scannell
  23. No. 8 – Ray Junior Courtemanche
  24. No. 27 – Andrew Ranger
  25. No. 98 – Sam Fellows
share it

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Latest Post

Clint Bowyer Spire Motorsports truck series return Nashville Superspeedway
Clint Bowyer to Pilot No. 7 Spire Motorsports Truck at Nashville
Front Row Motorsports Charter 2025 Three car NASCAR Cup Series team
Front Row Motorsports Acquires Charter; Expanding to Three Cup Teams in 2025
Austin Hill penalty 2024 BetMGM 300 Charlotte Motor Speedway Cole Custer 25 points fined 25,000
Austin Hill Docked 25 Points and Fined for Charlotte Incident With Cole Custer
AM Racing, Joe Williams Part Ways; Lucas to Serve as Interim Crew Chief for No. 15
Hitting The Oregon Trail: Previewing The Portland 112
Stewart-Haas Racing to Close Doors Following 2024 Season

Join Our Newsletter

Ready to have NASCAR news hand-delivered to your email daily?

Related Article