Friday, June 9, 2023

Joey Logano Holds Lead for Heat Four Win, Larson, McDowell, Jones Advance to Main

PC: Team Penske | Twitter

Joey Logano worked hard for the victory in the fourth and final heat race of the 2022 Busch Light Clash, holding off 2021 NASCAR Cup Series champion Kyle Larson throughout a pair of highly-contested restarts.

Logano continued the trend of the heat race winner leading every single lap, starting from the pole after posting the fourth-fastest time in Saturday’s single-car qualifying session.

Kyle Larson, Michael McDowell, and Erik Jones earned the remaining tickets into the main event, while Austin Cindric, Ryan Preece, Kurt Busch, Landon Cassill, and Ty Dillon will have to fight through the second Last Chance Qualifier.

The final heat race wasn’t as calm – if you can even call it that — as the first three heat races, with a pair of caution flags slowing the action in the 25-lap event.

Ty Dillon’s No. 42 Petty GMS Chevrolet had a mechanical issue on lap six, relegating him to the garage area, and a ninth-place finish in the heat race.

Additionally, after the restart, Austin Cindric spun his No. 2 Cascadia Ford Mustang around in turn four, after a scuff-up between Kurt Busch and Landon Cassill.

Video: Austin Cindric Goes For Spin in Heat 4 Off Bumper of Cassill, Who Was Tapped by Kurt Busch


Next up, is a pair of 50-lap Last Chance Qualifiers, where the top-three drivers will advance into the main event.

However, the 23rd and final spot will be awarded to the highest driver in 2021 points not locked in. Martin Truex Jr. will be the recipient of the provisional and has elected to sit out of the second LCQ.


Joseph Srigley
Joseph Srigley
University of Windsor | Business Administration - Supply Chain & Data Analytics Editor at

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Stay Connected


Latest Articles