Close this search box.


Zane Smith Scores Pole for Weather Guard Truck Race on Dirt at Bristol

Zane Smith will start on pole in Saturday’s Weather Guard Truck Race on Dirt, driving from tenth to second in the second of four heat races. PC: Jonathan McCoy |

Zane Smith is self-admittedly not a dirt racer by any stretch of the imagination. However, he is a NASCAR Craftsman Truck Series champion, and apparently, that pays off quite a bit.

Smith, driving the No. 38 Speedco Ford F-150 for Front Row Motorsports, will start Saturday’s Weather Guard Truck Race on Dirt from the top starting spot, after jumping from tenth to second in the second heat race.

The defending NASCAR Truck Series champion was the only driver to score 17 passing points in Saturday’s heat races and therefore will lead the field to the green, in a top-10 that is heavy with Fords.

Ty Majeski, who scored his first career victory on the concrete at Bristol last season, will start on the outside of the front row in his No. 98 Ford F-150 for ThorSport Racing.

Kaden Honeycutt put on a stellar performance in the fourth and final heat race on Saturday, putting his Roper Racing Team entry starting in third place, a career-best start.

Joey Logano, making his first NASCAR Truck Series start since Bristol Dirt in 2022, will start fourth in an extra entry for ThorSport Racing. Stewart Friesen scored the victory in the second heat, handing him a top-five starting spot.

Hailie Deegan, Ben Rhodes, Matt Crafton, Taylor Gray, and Chase Briscoe will round out the top-10 starters for Saturday’s 150-lap contest at Bristol on the dirt.

With 41 trucks entered in Saturday’s NASCAR Craftsman Truck Series event, for 36 spots, five trucks failed to qualify for the event, via their poor finishes in the heat races, and poor owner points position.

Lawless Alan (#45), Josh Reaume (#34), Jessica Friesen (#62), Jerry Bohlman (#46), and Andrew Gordon (#47) all failed to qualify for the Weather Guard Truck Race on Dirt.

share it

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Latest Post

Kevin Harvick Inc. 2024 schedule and drivers super late model late model stock
Kevin Harvick, Inc. Returns to Full-Time Racing, Unveils Driver Lineup
Daytona 500 qualifying results 2024 NASCAR Cup Series
Qualifying Results: 2024 NASCAR Cup Series Daytona 500
NASCAR Xfinity Series practice results 2024 United Rentals 300 Daytona
Practice Results: NASCAR Xfinity Series United Rentals 300 at Daytona
Shane van Gisbergen Promoted to ARCA 200 Field After CCM Racing Withdraws No. 7
Jennifer Jo Cobb 2024 NASCAR Truck Series Daytona Jennifer Jo Cobb Racing
Jennifer Jo Cobb Set for Late Entry Into Daytona Truck Race
Toni Breidinger Gus Dean Daytona International Speedway feud upset fight
Toni Breidinger Unleashes Criticism of Teammate Gus Dean After Daytona Run-In

Join Our Newsletter

Ready to have NASCAR news hand-delivered to your email daily?

Related Article