Close this search box.


Ty Gibbs Records Pole Position for Xfinity Race at Nashville

Photo Credit: Tyson Gifford,

NASCAR Cup Series regular Ty Gibbs will lead the field to green in Saturday’s NASCAR Xfinity Series Tennessee Lottery 250 at Nashville Superspeedway, capturing the pole position in single-vehicle qualifying from the 1.33-mile concrete racetrack.

Gibbs, scheduled to be the 15th of 39 drivers to post a qualifying time in Saturday’s session, secured the ninth NASCAR Xfinity Series pole of his career with a time three-tenths of a second quicker than any driver laid down during the series’ practice session.

Posting a time of 30.876 seconds (155.072mph), Gibbs had his No. 19 He Gets Us Toyota GR Supra a half-tenth of a second ahead of runner-up Cole Custer, who will start alongside the Cup Series sophomore for Saturday’s 188-lap contest.

In third place, Ryan Sieg recorded the best-ever qualifying result for both himself and family-owned team RSS Racing in the NASCAR Xfinity Series. Sieg has never started better than third in an Xfinity Series event, doing so at Talladega in 2020 (qualifying was not run).

RELATED: Starting Lineup for Saturday’s Tennessee Lottery 250 at Nashville

AJ Allmendinger was fourth-quickest in qualifying, while Chevrolet teammate Austin Hill completed the top five in the starting order for Saturday’s 250-mile contest. Justin Allgaier was sixth-fastest.

Noah Gragson, making his second start for the newly-formed Rette Jones Racing Xfinity Series team, was seventh-fastest in qualifying, while series regulars Chandler Smith, Riley Herbst, and Parker Kligerman completed the top-10.

Other notables included Tyler Reddick (11th), Sammy Smith (12th), Sheldon Creed (14th), John Hunter Nemechek (15th), Ross Chastain (20th), Sam Mayer (24th), Shane Van Gisbergen (28th), and Carson Kvapil (31st).

Jesse Love, the rookie driver for Richard Childress Racing, will start shotgun on the field in Saturday’s Tennessee Lottery 250 at Nashville after pulling his No. 2 Chevrolet Camaro into the garage with a radiator issue.

Jade Buford was the only driver that failed to qualify for Saturday’s event. Buford didn’t turn a qualifying lap, after Mike Harmon Racing had its vehicle fail pre-qualifying inspection three times, getting a crew member ejected and barring them from posting a time in qualifying.

share it

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Latest Post

Pennzoil 250 entry list NASCAR Xfinity Series Indianapolis Motor Speedway 2024
Entry List: 2024 NXS Pennzoil 250 at Indianapolis
Brickyard 400 entry list 2024 NASCAR Cup Series Indianapolis Motor Speedway
Entry List: 2024 NCS Brickyard 400 at Indianapolis
Alpha Prime Racing acquires JD Motorsports No. 4 owner points NASCAR Xfinity Series
Alpha Prime Racing Acquires JD Motorsports No. 4 Owner Points
`21624_Daytona_Trucks_Qualifying_JohnnySauter_2 (1)
Hattori Racing Enterprises Returning to Truck Series at IRP with Johnny Sauter
TG-RR-XFIN-HDeegan-Intros (1)
Hailie Deegan to Compete in SpeedTour All-Star Race at Lime Rock Park
Garrett Smithley Alpha Prime Racing 2024 Pennzoil 250 Indianapolis Motor Speedway Trophy Tractor Rich Mar Florist
Garrett Smithley Joins Alpha Prime Racing in No. 45 Entry at Indianapolis

Join Our Newsletter

Ready to have NASCAR news hand-delivered to your email daily?

Related Article