Close this search box.


Inspection Complete: Ryan Blaney Officially Wins Inaugural Cup Race at Iowa

Ryan Blaney wins the Iowa Corn 350 at Iowa Speedway Post-Race inspection

Photo Credit: James Gilbert, Getty Images

Ryan Blaney had been so close to a win this season that he could physically taste the victory lane champagne. On Sunday night, when he finally reached victory lane, the champagne probably had a tinge of corn flavor. But that’s fine, as he took the win in the inaugural Iowa Corn 350 at Iowa Speedway.

Blaney won Stage 1, led a race-high 201 laps, and held off William Byron on the final run of the race to secure his first NASCAR Cup Series win of the 2024 season.

After the race, Blaney’s race-winning No. 12 Advance Auto Parts Team Penske Ford Mustang Dark Horse took a trip to the post-race inspection bay, where it was given a passing grade after being subjected to the rigors of post-race tech.

As a result, NASCAR declared Blaney and his team the official winners of the race.

With the win, the defending series champion has officially locked up his Playoff berth, where he will look to defend his 2023 championship. The win is the 11th of Blaney’s 323-race NASCAR Cup Series career.

No issues were detected in post-race inspection, which means all results and standings from Sunday’s race are now considered official.

NASCAR will take six cars, the No. 9, 47, 20, 23, 6, and 22 back to the NASCAR R&D Center for wind tunnel testing.

William Byron came home in the runner-up spot ahead of Chase Elliott, Christopher Bell, and Ricky Stenhouse Jr.

Official Race Results

Race Results: NASCAR Cup Series Iowa Corn 350 at Iowa Speedway

Updated Driver Standings

2024 NASCAR Cup Series Driver Point Standings

Race Recap

Ryan Blaney Dominates Inaugural Cup Series Race at Iowa Speedway

Video Highlights

Video: Suarez Makes Contact with Larson; Larson Crashes Into Hamlin

Owner Standings

2024 NASCAR Cup Series Owner Point Standings

Rookie Standings

2024 NASCAR Cup Series Rookie Point Standings

Manufacturer Standings

2024 NASCAR Cup Series Manufacturer Point Standings

share it

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Latest Post

Ty Majeski wins the TSPORT 200 at IRP 2024 NASCAR Truck Series
Inspection Complete: Ty Majeski Officially Grabs First Win of 2024 at IRP
Ty Majeski Nabs First Win of the Season in TSPORT 200 at IRP
Connor Zilisch Outduels William Sawalich on Late Restart for ARCA Win at IRP
Rajah Caruth Earns Second Truck Series Pole at IRP
Tyler Reddick Lays Down Quick Lap in Cup Practice from Indianapolis
Chandler Smith Paces Xfinity Practice from Indianapolis Motor Speedway

Join Our Newsletter

Ready to have NASCAR news hand-delivered to your email daily?

Related Article