Close this search box.


McElrea Wins Indy Lights Race at Iowa After Lundqvist Penalty

Hunter McElrea at Iowa
Hunter McElrea at Iowa
Hunter McElrea scored his second consecutive victory in bizarre fashion at Iowa Speedway. Image courtesy of Karl Zemlin / Penske Entertainment

Hunter McElrea was the second car to cross the finish line, but took home the victory after a penalty was handed to Linus Lundqvist following an intense Indy Lights race at Iowa Speedway.

The No. 27 Andretti Autosport machine of McElrea started on pole and was comfortably managing the lead for the first half of the 75-lap contest. Everything was in-hand for McElrea until the caution waved on Lap 41 after James Roe crashed in Turn 2.

The incident set up a restart on Lap 50, which saw McElrea fall into the clutches of Lundqvist’s No. 26 HMD Motorsports with Dale Coyne Racing machine, who rolled to the lead. McElrea ended up falling back to third as teammate Matthew Brabham also went by and in pursuit of Lundqvist.

Brabham’s No. 83 Andretti Autosport entry methodically closed on the gap to Lundqvist, closing to the rear wing until finally trying an outside pass off the exit of Turn 2 with  five laps to go. However, Lundqvist faded to the right, making slight contact with Brabham and forcing him into the wall and breaking his front wing.

Lundqvist, the championship leader, crossed the finish line first, while Brabham continued to fight through the damage before falling from second to fourth off the final corner of the last lap.

In the aftermath, Race Control penalized Lundqvist three positions for avoidable contact, dropping him to fourth.

For McElrea, it is his second victory of the season and now trails Lundqvist in the overall standings by 77 points with five races remaining.

Christian Rasumssen ended up second, with Brabham third to give Andretti Autosport a sweep of the podium.

After Lundqvist, it was Sting Ray Robb in fifth.

Jacob Abel, Daniel Frost, Ernie Francis Jr., Benjamin Pedersen and Christian Bogle round out the rest of the top 10.

share it

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Latest Post

Money In The Bank Grid 2024 UARA
Erik Jones, Carson Hocevar Among Early Entries for Battle at Berlin in August
Rick Hendrick pace car driver for the 2024 Brickyard 400 at Indianapolis Motor Speedway NASCAR Cup Series Chevrolet Camaro ZL1
Rick Hendrick to Pace the Field for Brickyard 400 in Chevrolet Camaro ZL1
IMSA Mazda MX-5 Cup race at Martinsville Speedway details How to buy tickets 2024 NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour Series double header Virginia is for Racing Lovers 300
Martinsville Speedway Hosting 100-Lap IMSA MX-5 Cup Race in October
ARCA Menards Series Indianapolis Raceway Park IRP entry list race preview 2024
Spinning Circles At IRP, Previewing the Circle City 200
IROC partners with True Value in brand's return at Lime Rock Park 2024 Ray Evernham drivers that will be at IROC exhibition at Lime Rock
True Value Returns as IROC Partner; Drivers Announced for IROC Exhibition at Lime Rock Park
NASCAR penalty report Pocono Raceway RJ Otto Cordell Cahill 23XI Racing Bret Holmes Racing Phil Gould Niece Motorsports
NASCAR Issues Two Indefinite Suspensions for Substance Abuse Policy Violations

Join Our Newsletter

Ready to have NASCAR news hand-delivered to your email daily?

Related Article