Wednesday, September 20, 2023

Power Captures Championship as Palou Wins Season Finale at WeatherTech Raceway Laguna Seca

Will Power is the 2022 IndyCar champion.
Will Power executed another podium drive to claim his second Astor Cup Trophy. Image courtesy of James Black / Penske Entertainment

Will Power delivered a calm and calculated drive en route to capturing the NTT IndyCar Series championship in an eventful season finale at WeatherTech Raceway Laguna Seca.

- Advertisement -

The 41-year-old Aussie started on pole and controlled the early part of the 95-lap race, but in the end a third-place finish – making it nine podiums in 17 rounds – was more than enough to hoist the Astor Cup Trophy. It is the second time Power has won the title, and first since 2014.


While Power collected the title, it was Alex Palou delivering the ultimate beatdown in the Firestone Grand Prix of Monterey. Despite taking a six-spot grid penalty for an engine change to start the race from 11th, the 25-year-old Spaniard and last year’s series champion drove flawlessly to collect his first win of 2022 by taking the checkered flag by a staggering 30.3812s in the No. 10 Chip Ganassi Racing Honda. The result by Palou also makes it nine different winners in the NTT IndyCar Series for the 2022 season.

In the runner-up spot was Team Penske’s Josef Newgarden, who made a stirring charge through the field after starting 25th at the 11-turn, 2.238-mile natural terrain road course. The 31-year-old Tennessee native’s admirable drive included tremendous pace with several daring passes in the Corkscrew at Turn 8 to attempt a late push for the title, but fell short of being a three-time champion this year by 16 points to finish second in the overall standings.

While Palou, Newgarden and Power finished on the podium, it was still a strong day for the likes of the No. 7 Arrow McLaren SP Chevrolet of Felix Rosenqvist in fourth.

Christian Lundgaard capped off his first full-time season with an fifth-place finish in the No. 30 Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing Honda, which also led to earning the Rookie of the Year title.

Team Penske’s Scott McLaughlin finished sixth, ahead of Andretti Autosport’s Romain Grosjean in seventh. Eighth-place belonged to Pato O’Ward, while the No. 8 Chip Ganassi Racing Honda of Marcus Ericsson placed ninth.

Alexander Rossi put together a respectable run to finish 10th in his final race with Andretti Autosport.

The No. 26 Andretti Autosport Honda of Colton Herta finished 11th. Six-time NTT IndyCar Series champion Scott Dixon crossed the finish line 12th in the No. 9 Chip Ganassi Racing Honda. Dixon also secured third in the overall championship standings.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Stay Connected


Latest Articles