Sunday, February 5, 2023

Inspection Report: Kevin Harvick Officially Scores Win at Michigan, First Victory of 2022

Kevin Harvick has officially scored his first NASCAR Cup Series win of the 2022 season as his car passed post-race inspection at Michigan. PC: Ben Earp | NKP | Courtesy of Ford Performance

Post-race technical inspection following Sunday’s NASCAR Cup Series FireKeepers Casino 400 at Michigan International Speedway has been completed.

Kevin Harvick’s race-winning No. 4 Busch Light Apple Stewart-Haas Racing Ford Mustang has passed. As a result, NASCAR has declared Harvick and his team the official winners of the race.

This marks the first win of Harvick’s 2022 NASCAR Cup Series season, making him the 15th winner of the season, which should lock him into the Playoffs. Harvick has now amassed a total of 59-career NASCAR Cup Series wins.

No issues were detected in post-race inspection, which means all results and standings following Sunday’s race are now considered official.

The No. 9 car, driven by Chase Elliott, and the No. 11 car, driven by Denny Hamlin were randomly selected to go to the NASCAR R&D Center for further inspection. As we’ve seen this year, these further inspections can lead to penalties.

Bubba Wallace is the official runner-up finisher, while Denny Hamlin, Joey Logano and Ryan Blaney rounded out the top-five finishers in the race.

Race Results

Race Results: 2022 NASCAR Cup Series FireKeepers Casino 400

Driver Standings

NASCAR Cup Series Driver Standings

Owner Standings

NASCAR Cup Series Owner Standings

Race Recap

Kevin Harvick Snaps 65-Race Winless Streak, Returns to Victory Lane at Michigan

Video Highlights / Other Race Stories

Bubba Wallace Emotional After Runner-Up Finish at Michigan

Video: Day Comes to End For Cole Custer After No. 41 Car Ignites in Flames

Video: MASSIVE Crash Erupts on Restart After Competition Caution at Michigan

Toby Christie
Toby Christie
Toby is the Founder, and Editor-in-Chief of Toby is also the co-host of The Final Lap Weekly Podcast. Additionally, he is a NMPA (National Motorsports Press Association) award-winning writer, and has followed the sport as a fan since 1993.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.


Stay Connected


Latest Articles