Monday, December 5, 2022

Alex Tagliani Holds Off Andrew Ranger For Win in Second Twin 125 at Saskatoon

Alex Tagliani Saskatoon win 2022 NASCAR Pinty's Series
Alex Tagliani held off Andrew Ranger for the win in the second NASCAR Pinty’s Series Leland Industrial Twin 125 at Saskatoon.

Alex Tagliani fended off numerous challenges from Andrew Ranger in the closing laps of the second NASCAR Pinty’s Series Leland Industries Twin 125 Wednesday at Sutherland Automotive Speedway to score a hard-fought victory.

Tagliani wearing silver duct tape essentially as war paint on his No. 18 Viagra / NTN Chevrolet, which was battered in the opening Twin 125 of the afternoon, kept calm despite the immense pressure from behind.

While it was Tagliani’s steady driving that secured the win, the driver from Montreal put all of the praise on his team for banding together and bringing an incredible car to Saskatoon.

“We won’t tell you all of the secrets of what is happening in the shop, but the entire team — the No. 18, the 22 and the 20 work so hard on the car,” Tagliani said with pride. “They did a tremendous job. All of the resources. A lot of creativity. A lot of help from the guys at McCall that made the trip.”

This marks the 11th-career win for Tagliani and it’s the 48-year old’s first NASCAR Pinty’s Series win of 2022.

For Ranger, it was another close call, but just like in Twin 125 No. 1 the winningest driver in NASCAR Pinty’s Series history came home in second.

Ranger was right there on Tagliani in the closing laps, but he just lacked a little drive off to be able to pull of the win.

“Yeah, exactly. Drive off,” Ranger said after the race. “We did a little change and was thinking it was enough. Unfortunately, but whatever. We finished on the podium. This is another second position for us. It’s good for the points.”

L.P. Dumoulin finished the race in third, while Raphael Lessard and Brandon Watson finished fourth and Fifth.

D.J. Kennington, who won Twin 125 No. 1, but was penalized at the start of Twin 125 No. 2, rallied to finish in sixth. Kevin Lacroix, J.P. Bergeron, Mark Dilley and Donald Theetge rounded out the top-10 finishers in the event.

Here are the complete race results for the NASCAR Pinty’s Series Leland Industrial Twin 125 No. 2:

PosStNo.DriverSponsorMakeLapsBest Lap
11018Alex TaglianiViagra / St. Hubert / Qwick Wick / NTNChevrolet12515.157
2527Andrew RangerGM Paille Chevrolet CanadaChevrolet12515.182
31347L.P. DumoulinWeatherTech / BellemareDodge12515.096
478Raphael LessardTransit / Easy-Kleen / Fast Eddie SpeedwearChevrolet12515.160
5119Brandon WatsonGMS / Shear Metal Products / APCChevrolet12515.125
6217D.J. KenningtonCastrol Edge / Wilride / Fuel DonkeyDodge12515.107
7474Kevin LacroixESR / Lacroix Tuning / Paragon Auto ServiceDodge12515.188
8181J.P. BergeronProlon / Rousseau MetalsFord12515.173
91264Mark DilleyLeland / IHL GroupChevrolet12515.226
10180Donald TheetgeGroupe Theetge Inc / XPNChevrolet12515.169
112143Shantel KalikaAGIDodge12515.433
12822Kyle StecklyAPC Auto Parts / Wing N' It RestaurantsChevrolet12515.230
13160Glenn StyresGSR / Ohsweken SpeedwayChevrolet12415.407
142328Matthew ShirleyProvincial Vodka / Elite Property ManagementDodge12415.375
15143Brett TaylorTCB Trailers / Fast Eddie SpeedwearChevrolet12315.269
162271Bryan CathcartOK Tire Peterborough / Fuel DonkeyDodge12315.314
17320Treyton LapcevichFMB / RGC Sports / Qwick WickChevrolet12215.171
181766Wallace StaceyK Fibre Optic / Bully's Truck StopChevrolet12215.391
191946Jamie KrzysikKrown-Pel Ventures / BerMar RewindChevrolet12215.301
20996Marc-Antoine CamirandGM Paille Chevrolet CanadaChevrolet6115.156
21659Gary KluttNewTechWoodDodge5415.225
221592Dexter StaceyBully's Truck Stop / K Fibre OpticChevrolet3515.223
23202T.J. RinomatoRGC Sports / Delta Bingo / VellamoChevrolet00.000

Following this race, Kevin Lacroix maintained the series point lead, but he holds a slim one-point advantage over D.J. Kennington.

Here are the Point Standings following this race:

  1. Kevin Lacroix, 306 points
  2. D.J. Kennington, -1
  3. Marc-Antoine Camirand, -5
  4. L.P. Dumoulin, -8
  5. Andrew Ranger, -11
  6. Brandon Watson, -19
  7. Alex Tagliani, -20
  8. Gary Klutt, -22
  9. Treyten Lapcevich, -28
  10. J.P. Burgeron, -40
Toby Christie
Toby Christie
Toby is the Founder, and Editor-in-Chief of Toby is also the co-host of The Final Lap Weekly Podcast. Additionally, he is a NMPA (National Motorsports Press Association) award-winning writer, and has followed the sport as a fan since 1993.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.



Stay Connected


Latest Articles