Thursday, June 8, 2023

Entry List: 2022 NTT IndyCar Series GMR Grand Prix

The start of the 2021 GMR Grand Prix.
The run down into Turn 1 on the road course version of Indianapolis Motor Speedway can make for a chaotic start to the GMR Grand Prix. Image courtesy of Chris Owens

A field of 27 from the NTT IndyCar Series will take to the track for this weekend’s GMR Grand Prix on the Indianapolis Motor Speedway road course.

Defending race winner Rinus VeeKay is among those that will push the pace around the 2.439-mile, 14-turn circuit. The road course has been a fixture on the IndyCar schedule since 2014. Team Penske has racked up an impressive five wins in the event (Not including past events like Harvest GP and Brickyard weekend), with Will Power leading the brigade with three. Simon Pagenaud also has three wins in the event, including the inaugural race while driving for Schmidt Peterson Motorsports (now Arrow McLaren SP) before scoring another two with Team Penske.

Two-time Indianapolis 500 champion Juan Pablo Montoya is also set to make his first appearance of the 2022 season, piloting the No. 6 Arrow McLaren SP Chevrolet to kickstart his run for the month of May.

Firestone will provide six sets of primary (black sidewall) tires, and four sets of the alternate (red sidewall) compound. (Note: A seventh set of primary tires is available to any car fielding a rookie driver.)

Additionally, there will be 200 seconds of Push-to-Pass available for the 90-lap race, which will allow a maximum burst of up to 20 seconds per use. The boost is not available on the initial start or restart unless it is the final two laps or three minutes of a timed race.

The GMR Grand Prix will start Saturday at 3:20 p.m. ET on NBC.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Stay Connected


Latest Articles