Friday, June 9, 2023

Denny Hamlin Wins LCQ 1, Harvick, Allmendinger Also Advance to Clash Main Event

Denny Hamlin last chance qualifier
Denny Hamlin took the win in the Last Chance Qualifier for the 2022 Busch Light Clash at the LA Memorial Coliseum. Photo by Sean Gardner/Getty Images

We finally saw some fireworks in the first, of two, Last Chance Qualifier races at the LA Memorial Coliseum for the 2022 Busch Light Clash, as we saw Aric Almirola’s day end after a retaliatory crash.

But it was Denny Hamlin that scored the ever important win in the 50-lap LCQ to secure his place into Saturday night’s Clash Main Event.

Kevin Harvick, who finished second, and AJ Allmendinger, who finished third, also secured their spot in the Main Event field with their finishes.

Cody Ware was the highest finishing driver in LCQ 1, that will not advance to the big show, as he came home an impressive fourth in the race. Ware actually applied pressure to Allmendinger for stretches of this LCQ, but ultimately came up just shy of advancing.

Chris Buescher finished fifth, while Ross Chastain was sixth, Corey LaJoie ended up seventh, Todd Gilliland was eighth, BJ McLeod parked early and came home ninth and Aric Almirola ended up dead last in 10th after a crash with Gilliland ended his race.

Video: Aric Almirola Goes Hard Into Wall During LCQ After Contact With Gilliland

Toby Christie
Toby Christie
Toby is the Founder, and Editor-in-Chief of Toby is also the co-host of The Final Lap Weekly Podcast. Additionally, he is a NMPA (National Motorsports Press Association) award-winning writer, and has followed the sport as a fan since 1993.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Stay Connected


Latest Articles