Skip to content

Chase Briscoe Asserts His Dominance With Victory After Epic Battle for the Lead in Indy Road Course Xfinity Series Race

(Photo by Chris Graythen/Getty Images)

Oh. My. Goodness.

Have you ever? Over the final few laps in Saturday’s NASCAR Xfinity Series Pennzoil 150 at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway, we were treated to an absolute barn-burner.

Chase Briscoe, AJ Allmendinger and Austin Cindric waged an incredible war for the win. All three drivers looked at different points to be heading to victory lane, but a gusty move with three laps to go gave the lead to Briscoe.

When Allmendinger and Cindric made contact moments later fighting for second, that paved the way for Briscoe, who is an Indiana-native, to cruise to his fifth victory of the 2020 NXS season.

“It doesn’t matter if you race on the oval, the road course, the dirt track or the parking lot,” Briscoe explained. “It’s special when you win here.”

Briscoe, who led a race-high 33 laps and also won Stage 2, paid homage to his childhood hero Tony Stewart as he climbed the fence after the race.

“Everybody knows that I grew up — my hero in racing was Tony Stewart,” Briscoe said. “To get to drive for him, and watch him win the Brickyard, that was always his signature thing. I always wanted to do it.”

After the final battle, which was an absolute slobber-knocker, Justin Haley worked his way to a second-place finish after numerous mistakes by others over the final couple of circuits.

Noah Gragson finished third, while Allmendinger and Cindric wound up fourth and fifth after several instances of contact over the closing laps of the race.

Ross Chastain was sixth and he was followed by Justin Allgaier, Alex Labbe, Michael Annett and Preston Pardus recorded a super-impressive 10th-place finish in a one-off race with DGM Racing.

Post-Race Stat Pack:

Toby Christie View All

Toby is the Founder, Editor and go-to man for He is also the co-host of The Final Lap Weekly Podcast. Additionally, Toby is a NMPA (National Motorsports Press Association) award winning writer, and has followed NASCAR as a fan since 1993.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: