Skip to content

Kevin Harvick Tires Out The Field In Atlanta, Grabs Second Win of 2020

HAMPTON, GEORGIA – JUNE 07: The #4 Busch Light For The Farmers Ford, driven by Kevin Harvick, sits on the grid prior to the NASCAR Cup Series Folds of Honor QuikTrip 500 at Atlanta Motor Speedway on June 07, 2020 in Hampton, Georgia. (Photo by Chris Graythen/Getty Images)

Kevin Harvick’s No. 4 Ford Mustang came alive in the final stage of Sunday’s NASCAR Cup Series Folds of Honor QuikTrip 500 at Atlanta Motor Speedway, and the 44-year old driver cruised to his second win of the 2020 season, and 51st-victory of his Cup Series career.

Following the stirring win, Harvick paid tribute to Dale Earnhardt with a polish victory — reminiscent of the gesture Harvick displayed after his first win in 2001.

Harvick, who led a race-high 151 laps, had a margin of victory was just over 3.5-seconds over Kyle Busch. Busch, the 2019 Series champion, still sits winless through 10 races in the 2020 season.

Martin Truex Jr., who won Stages 1 and 2, finished third in the race. Ryan Blaney and Denny Hamlin rounded out the top-five finishers in the race.

Kurt Busch did an astonishing job in rebounding from going a lap down in Stage 1 after starting from the rear and having a pass through penalty to start the race due to failing pre-race inspection three times.

Jimmie Johnson finished seventh and he was followed by Chase Elliott, Brad Keselowski and Joey Logano in 10th.

Clint Bowyer, Harvick’s Stewart-Haas Racing teammate, led 58 laps on the day, but ultimately his day was done in by two separate blistered tires.

Bowyer would finish a disappointing 20th, one lap off the pace.

At the conclusion of the grueling race, which was contested in much warmer temperatures than usual as Atlanta usually is run in March, only 10 cars finished on the lead lap.

Post-Race Stat Pack:

Toby Christie View All

Toby is the Founder, Editor and go-to man for He is also the co-host of The Final Lap Weekly Podcast. Additionally, Toby is a NMPA (National Motorsports Press Association) award winning writer, and has followed NASCAR as a fan since 1993.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: