Close this search box.


Making The Field: 2022 NCWTS Victoria’s Voice Foundation 200 at Las Vegas

There are 37 trucks on the preliminary entry list for Friday’s NASCAR Camping World Truck Series Victoria’s Voice Foundation 200 at Las Vegas Motor Speedway. (PC: Steph Chambers/Getty Images)

After a highly-contested season-opener at Daytona International Speedway, the NASCAR Camping World Truck Series heads out west for the second event of the 2022 season, the Victoria’s Voice 200 at Las Vegas Motor Speedway.

Zane Smith – competing in his first event for Front Row Motorsports — claimed the victory at the 2.5-mile superspeedway, after the race was dominated by the Toyota Tundra’s of John Hunter Nemechek and Ty Majeski.

With 37 trucks on the preliminary entry list for Friday night’s race, there will only be one team that is sent home without getting a chance to participate in the 134-lapper, which means the competition will be fierce to get every tenth of a second possible in qualifying.

G2G Racing – a new two-truck operation for 2022 owned by Tim Viens — are the only two trucks that don’t have owner points from last season, which means both drivers will have to post a time inside the top-31 to avoid missing the race.

Loris Hezemans (No. 33) and Matt Jaskol (No. 47) are the two drivers that will attempt to make their series debuts at Las Vegas, while Todd Bodine returns to the series for the first time in nine years, driving a second truck for Halmar Friesen Racing.


99Ben RhodesThorSport Racing1st in 2021 NCWTS OP

2021 NCWTS Champion (PCP 1)
23Grant EnfingerGMS Racing2nd in 2021 NCWTS OP (was GMS 21)
4John Hunter NemechekKyle Busch Motorsports3rd in 2021 NCWTS OP
38Zane SmithFront Row Motorsports4th in 2021 NCWTS OP
88Matt CraftonThorSport Racing6th in 2021 NCWTS OP

2019 NCWTS Champion (PCP 2)

Just like at Daytona, Ben Rhodes, Grant Enfinger, John Hunter Nemechek, and Zane Smith are all guaranteed a spot into the field on Friday night, by virtue of their 2021 NASCAR Camping World Truck Series owner point rank.

Matt Crafton – sixth in 2021 NCWTS OP — is locked into the field, based on being the most recent eligible past champion not inside the top-four in owner points. However, the odds of Crafton needing the PCP are low, due to his points position.


38Zane SmithFront Row Motorsports5th in 2022 NCWTS OP
15Tanner GrayDavid Gilliland Racing6th in 2022 NCWTS OP
98Christian EckesThorSport Racing7th in 2022 NCWTS OP
66Ty MajeskiThorSport Racing8th in 2022 NCWTS OP
4John Hunter NemechekKyle Busch Motorsports9th in 2022 NCWTS OP
16Tyler AnkrumHattori Racing Enterprises10th in 2022 NCWTS OP
19Derek KrausMcAnally-Hilgemann Racing11th in 2022 NCWTS OP
42Carson HocevarNiece Motorsports13th in 2022 NCWTS OP
17Taylor GrayDavid Gilliland Racing14th in 2022 NCWTS OP
22Austin Wayne SelfAM Racing15th in 2022 NCWTS OP
23Grant EnfingerGMS Racing16th in 2022 NCWTS OP
02Jesse LittleYoung's Motorsports17th in 2022 NCWTS OP
25Matt DiBenedettoRackley WAR18th in 2022 NCWTS OP
56Timmy HillHill Motorsports19th in 2022 NCWTS OP
44Kris WrightNiece Motorsports20th in 2022 NCWTS OP

With only one truck set to miss Friday’s event at Las Vegas Motor Speedway, there are a lot of drivers in the mid-field portion, in terms of owner points, that are likely feeling really good about their points position heading into qualifying.

Therefore, it’s likely that fifth to 30th in 2021 NASCAR Camping World Truck Series owner points will be solidly in the field, should things go smoothly in qualifying on Friday. However, should multiple prominent teams find mechanical issues, the bottom of this list may begin to feel weary.


20Matt MillsYoung's Motorsports32nd in 2021 NCWTS OP
3Jordan AndersonJordan Anderson Racing34th in 2021 NCWTS OP
32Bret HolmesBret Holmes Racing35th in 2021 NCWTS OP
45Lawless AlanNiece Motorsports36th in 2021 NCWTS OP (was #11)
62Todd BodineHalmar Friesen Racing45th in 2021 NCWTS OP
46Brennan PooleG2G Racing*Must Qualify on Speed*
47Matt JaskolG2G Racing*Must Qualify on Speed*

The aforementioned seven trucks (Mills, Anderson, Holmes, Alan, Bodine, Poole, and Jaskol) are nervous heading into Friday’s qualifying session. Even if they’re confident a top-31 lap is imminent, one small issue could see any of these teams headed home.

Of the trucks listed, the most unfavorable positions belong to G2G Racing teammates Brennan Poole and Matt Jaskol, as neither entry accumulated/acquired owner points from last season, forcing both entries to be inside the top-31 in qualifying.

In the event that Matt Jaskol AND Brennan Poole aren’t able to post times inside the top-31 in single-truck qualifying, the fastest of the two entries will qualify for the race, with the other going home.

share it

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Latest Post

Ryan Roulette incar
Ryan Roulette Set For New Challenge, Ready To Take On Salem
Video Thumbnail 1
ATYL: "Gave it to f*cking golden boy" | NASCAR's Return to The Brickyard
Inspection Complete: Kyle Larson Wins 2024 Brickyard 400
Kyle Larson Gets Redemption for Thwarted 'Double' with Brickyard 400 Win
big crash video Brickyard 400 overtime Denny Hamlin Alex Bowman John Hunter Nemechek Daniel Hemric Chase Briscoe
Video: MASSIVE Crash Erupts in Turn 1 on Brickyard 400 Overtime Attempt
Brickyard 400 crash video Joey Logano Jimmie Johnson Carson Hocevar Ryan Blaney Austin Dillon 2024
Video: Hocevar's Three-Wide Move Leads to Blaney Colliding With Jimmie Johnson, Joey Logano

Join Our Newsletter

Ready to have NASCAR news hand-delivered to your email daily?

Related Article