Close this search box.


Austin Hill Edges Parker Kligerman for Xfinity Series Pole at Daytona

Austin Hill Richard Childress Racing NASCAR Xfinity Series Daytona International Speedway
Austin Hill Richard Childress Racing NASCAR Xfinity Series Daytona International Speedway
Austin Hill is looking to go back-to-back at Daytona International Speedway, winning the pole for Saturday’s NASCAR Xfinity Series event at the 2.5-mile superspeedway.

Austin Hill is looking to go back-to-back in the NASCAR Xfinity Series at Daytona International Speedway, and he’s certainly gotten off to a great start, winning the pole for Saturday’s Beef. It’s What’s for Dinner. 300.

Hill, in his second full season for Richard Childress Racing, was the last driver to qualify in the second round of Saturday’s single-car qualifying session, posting a quick time of 49.298 seconds (182.563mph).

The pole position for the Georgia native is the seventh for Richard Childress Racing in the last eight NASCAR Xfinity Series season-opening races at Daytona International Speedway, with seven different drivers.

Parker Kligerman, in his first full-time NASCAR campaign in a decade, will start alongside the No. 21 on the front row, in his No. 48 Big Machine Racing Chevrolet Camaro.

Cole Custer and Sheldon Creed will make up the second row for Saturday’s event, with Justin Allgaier completing the top five, driving for JR Motorsports.

Daniel Hemric, a two-time pole winner at Daytona, will start in sixth place for Kaulig Racing, with John Hunter Nemechek, Chandler Smith, Riley Herbst, and Anthony Alfredo rounding out the top-10.

For Alfredo, moving to BJ McLeod Motorsports in 2023, a top-10 starting spot in the season-opener at Daytona is a positive step of momentum heading into the new season.

Other notables included Brandon Jones (11th), Sam Mayer (14th), Sammy Smith (15th), Josh Berry (18th), and Justin Haley (19th).

With 44 drivers entered in the season-opening event, six drivers failed to qualify for Saturday’s 300-mile event, those being: Alex Labbe, Timmy Hill, Josh Bilicki, Garrett Smithley, Dexter Stacey, and Ryan Vargas.

share it

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Latest Post

Martin Truex Jr. Denny Hamlin post-race crash Richmond Raceway Toyota Owners 400 Martin Truex Jr. mad
Martin Truex Jr. Frustrated by Hamlin's Final Restart; Runs into Him After Race
Denny Hamlin twitter argument with Marcus Smith SMI 2024 X
Denny Hamlin, Marcus Smith Engage in Late-Night Fight on X
Timmy Hill yells at Stewart Friesen Martinsville 2024 video Long John Silver's 200 NASCAR Craftsman Truck Series
"You're Supposed to be Better than these F***ing Kids" Timmy Hill Unleashes on Stewart Friesen
Kyle Busch car chief ejected COTA inspection Ricky Stenhouse Jr. Richard Childress Racing JTG Daugherty Racing
Kyle Busch, Ricky Stenhouse Jr. Car Chiefs Ejected After Multiple Failed Inspection Attempts
Gray Gaulding arrested Domestic Violence 2024 Mecklenburg County Sheriff's Department
Gray Gaulding Arrested on Misdemeanor Crime of Domestic Violence Charge; Suspended by NASCAR
Hailie Deegan Martinsville finishes 18th destroyed car NASCAR Xfinity Series Cook Out 400
Hailie Deegan Salvages 18th-Place Finish Despite Destroyed Race Car

Join Our Newsletter

Ready to have NASCAR news hand-delivered to your email daily?

Related Article