Close this search box.


NASCAR Announces Twenty Eligible Drivers For 2019 Clash at Daytona

Photo by Brian Lawdermilk/Getty Images

By Toby Christie (Follow on Twitter @Toby_Christie)

The Clash at Daytona is always a fun treat. The race is a shorter-style (not as short as it used to be) 75-lap exhibition event that gets the NASCAR season kicked off and it gives fans the chance to whet their appetite for racing until the Daytona 500.

“There’s no better way to start the season,” said Steve O’Donnell, NASCAR executive vice president and chief racing development officer. “The close, door-to-door action you see in the Advance Auto Parts Clash is a precursor to the intense competition you’ll see in the Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series throughout 2019.”

The criteria to make it into the event is usually related to winning pole awards, but over the years the eligibility criteria has morphed but it always turns into a spectacle.

“It’s a tremendous day of racing for our fans,” said Daytona International Speedway President Chip Wile in a track release. “Having Daytona 500 Qualifying Presented By Kroger followed by the Advance Auto Parts Clash makes for a sweet first Sunday of Speedweeks and will have fans fully tuned up for the 61st running of the ‘Great American Race’ on Feb. 17.”

On Thursday, NASCAR announced the 2019 eligibility rules and as a result, 20 drivers are eligible to drive in the event at the 2.5-mile speedway.

This year’s Clash will consist of drivers who won a Busch Pole Award in 2018, former Clash winners who ran the full schedule in 2018, past Daytona 500 pole winners and race champions who ran the full 2018 slate and 2018 Playoff contenders.

Here are your 2019 Clash at Daytona eligible drivers:

2018 Busch Pole Award Winners (13)

Ryan Blaney, Alex Bowman, Kurt Busch, Kyle Busch, Chase Elliott, Denny Hamlin, Kevin Harvick, Erik Jones, Kyle Larson, Joey Logano, Paul Menard, Daniel Suarez, Martin Truex Jr.

Former Daytona 500 Winners (4)

Jamie McMurray, Ryan Newman, Austin Dillon (also former D500 pole winner), Jimmie Johnson (also former D500 pole winner)

2018 Playoff contenders (3)

Aric Almirola, Clint Bowyer, Brad Keselowski

The Clash at Daytona is scheduled for Sunday, February 10 at 3:00 pm ET.

share it

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Latest Post

Starting Lineup: 2024 NASCAR Cup Series Brickyard 400 at Indianapolis
Cole Custer Stewart-Haas Racing NASCAR Xfinity Series Pole Indianapolis
Cole Custer Leads Stewart-Haas Front Row Lockout at Indianapolis Motor Speedway
Starting Lineup: 2024 NXS Pennzoil 250 at Indianapolis Motor Speedway
Cole Custer Haas Factory Team NASCAR Cup Series 2025
Defending Xfinity Champion Cole Custer Lands Haas Factory Team Cup Seat
NASCAR TV Schedule Saturday July 20 2024 how to watch the NASCAR Xfinity Series race Pennzoil 250 how to watch NASCAR Cup Brickyard 400 qualifying what channel is NASCAR on today?
NASCAR TV Schedule Saturday, July 20, 2024
Ty Majeski wins the TSPORT 200 at IRP 2024 NASCAR Truck Series
Inspection Complete: Ty Majeski Officially Grabs First Win of 2024 at IRP

Join Our Newsletter

Ready to have NASCAR news hand-delivered to your email daily?

Related Article