Close this search box.


Matt DiBenedetto and Michael McDowell Forced to The Rear of The Pack After Unapproved Adjustments

HAMPTON, GEORGIA – JUNE 07: Matt DiBenedetto, driver of the #21 Menards/Knauf Ford, and crew stand for the national anthem prior to the NASCAR Cup Series Folds of Honor QuikTrip 500 at Atlanta Motor Speedway on June 07, 2020 in Hampton, Georgia. (Photo by Chris Graythen/Getty Images)

Michael McDowell and Matt DiBenedetto will join Las Vegas winner Kyle Larson at the rear of the field to start Sunday’s Food City Dirt Race at Bristol Motor Speedway, after both teams had to make unapproved adjustments to their cars on Sunday Afternoon.

The Front Row Motorsports team was looking over the No. 34 Love’s Travel Stops Ford Mustang prior to the start of the race, when they found something that they didn’t like, forcing them to make a change to McDowell’s car, resulting in the penalty.

In the case of Matt DiBenedetto and Wood Brothers Racing, things get a little more bizarre, as the team’s No. 21 Ford Mustang suffered damage while unloading the car. According to the team’s Twitter account, the team was backing the car off the lift gate to get in line, when the fender clipped a hinge, creasing the fender. This was determined as a “unapproved adjustment” and will result in the No. 21 starting at the rear of the field.

Both cars will join Hendrick Motorsports’ Kyle Larson at the rear of the field on the pace laps and will look to forge a path to the front of the field.

share it

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Latest Post

Kyle Larson Staying in Indy; Justin Allgaier to Start Coke 600 in No. 5
Charlotte Motor Speedway ROVAl redesign 2024 NASCAR Cup Series Bank of America ROVAL 400
Charlotte Motor Speedway to Adjust ROVAL Layout to Create More Braking Zones
Brenden Queen Champagne Tri County CARS 2024
Brenden Queen Returns to CARS Tour Victory Lane, Jake Bollman Scores First CARS PLM Win - Clone
Chase Pinsonneault VL Owosso Big O Classic 2024
Chase Pinsonneault Wins Big O Classic at Owosso Speedway
Ty Gibbs Coca-Cola 600 pole position NASCAR Cup Series Charlotte Motor Speedway
Ty Gibbs Rockets to First Career Pole for NASCAR's Longest Race
Starting Lineup: 2024 NCS Coca-Cola 600 at Charlotte

Join Our Newsletter

Ready to have NASCAR news hand-delivered to your email daily?

Related Article