Close this search box.


McLaughlin Captures Pole, Leads Penske Qualifying Sweep for Grand Prix of Portland

Scott McLaughlin wins pole at Portland 2022
Scott McLaughlin wins pole at Portland 2022
Scott McLaughlin will start on pole for the third time of 2022. Image courtesy of Joe Skibinski / Penske Entertainment

Scott McLaughlin delivered a smooth performance in NTT IndyCar Series qualifying to claim pole for Sunday’s Grand Prix of Portland.

The 29-year-old New Zealander wheeled the No. 3 Team Penske Chevrolet to a flying lap of 58.2349s (121.412 mph) at the 12-turn, 1.964-mile road course en route to the top spot. The result marks McLaughlin’s third pole of the 2022 season.

The pace of McLaughlin was also proved throughout the entire Team Penske organization as Josef Newgarden qualified second, with current championship leader Will Power ending up third. However, Newgarden will relinquish the front-row starting spot and after receiving a six-position starting grid penalty for an engine change ahead of the race weekend at Portland International Raceway.

It was an impressive showing from rookie Christian Lundgaard, who led Honda and Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing with a stout fourth-place effort.

Reigning NTT IndyCar Series champion and defending race winner Alex Palou was the only driver from Chip Ganassi Racing to advance into the Firestone Fast Six and ended up fifth when the checkered flag flew. Arrow McLaren SP’s Pato O’Ward continued his methodical improvement with pace and came away sixth.

Felix Rosenqvist was a narrow miss from the Fast Six, with his No. 7 Arrow McLaren SP Chevrolet placing seventh.

The Andretti Autosport duo of Colton Herta and Alexander Rossi ended up eighth and ninth, respectively. Rookie David Malukas put his No. 18 Dale Coyne Racing with HMD Motorsports Honda in 10th.

Graham Rahal’s No. 15 Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing Honda was 11th, while the No. 21 Ed Carpenter Racing Chevrolet of Rinus VeeKay came away 12th.

The first driver to miss out on the Fast 12 was AJ Foyt Racing rookie Kyle Kirkwood, who ended up with a solid showing of 13th.

The most significant notables were six-time NTT IndyCar Series champion Scott Dixon, who qualified 16th, and he was joined by Chip Ganassi Racing teammate Marcus Ericsson in 18th as neither championship contender advanced out of Group 1 qualifying.

Up Next: The final practice session is set for 7:15 p.m. ET, with live coverage on Peacock, IndyCar Live! and the IndyCar Radio Network.

share it

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Latest Post

big crash video Brickyard 400 overtime Denny Hamlin Alex Bowman John Hunter Nemechek Daniel Hemric Chase Briscoe
Video: MASSIVE Crash Erupts in Turn 1 on Brickyard 400 Overtime Attempt
Brickyard 400 crash video Joey Logano Jimmie Johnson Carson Hocevar Ryan Blaney Austin Dillon 2024
Video: Hocevar's Three-Wide Move Leads to Blaney Colliding With Jimmie Johnson, Joey Logano
Video: Martin Truex, Jr. Smacks Wall in Turn Three; Josh Berry Crashes in Aftermath 
William Byron crash Brickyard 400 Indianapolis Motor Speedway video Chase Briscoe Harrison Burton AJ Allmendinger
Video: William Byron Wiped Out in Multi-Car Melee on Lap 74 of Brickyard 400
Chase Elliott pit road blend line violation penalty Brickyard 400 Indianapolis Motor Speedway 2024 video
'I Did Exactly What the F***ing Sheet Said' Chase Elliott Irate After Being Hit with Blend Line Violation
PPG to Continue as Title Sponsor of Brickyard 400; Extends Sponsorship of Team Penske

Join Our Newsletter

Ready to have NASCAR news hand-delivered to your email daily?

Related Article