Friday, February 3, 2023

Michael Atwell Scores $3,500 For Setting Fast Time For Bill Bigley Sr. Memorial

Michael Atwell pole 2022 Bill Bigley Sr. Memorial 128 4-17 Southern Speedway
Michael Atwell turned the fastest lap in qualifying for the 2022 Bill Bigley Sr. Memorial 128 at 4-17 Southern Speedway. Photo Credit: Daniel Vining / PixelatedSPEED

Michael Atwell, who is on a quest for his second victory in the Bill Bigley Sr. Memorial 128 at 4-17 Southern Speedway, got Saturday evening started the right way by collecting the $3,500 bonus check for turning the quickest lap in qualifying for the event.

While Atwell turned the quickest lap at 14.458 seconds (93.374 mph), he will not start from the top spot as the starting lineup will feature an invert (number of cars to be determined) before the green flag.

With the $3,500 qualifying bonus paid out, the drivers will now battle for the remaining $26,500 winner’s purse in the main event.

Michael Goddard was just 0.035 seconds behind Atwell as he turned the second-fastest lap in qualifying. Then Ty Majeski, the 2022 NASCAR Camping World Truck Series Championship 4 contender, was third.

Majeski paced practice earlier in the day on Saturday.

Albert Francis and Nick Neri rounded out the top-five qualifiers.

Derek Kraus, another NASCAR Truck Series competitor, scored the eight-fastest lap of the session and is locked into Saturday’s Main Event.

Chad Chastain, the younger brother of 2022 NASCAR Cup Series Championship 4 contender Ross Chastain, will need to race his way into the Main Event from the B-Mains.

Chastain was 27th in the qualifying session, where the top 20 secured their place in the big show.

The top-three finishers from each of the two 20-lap B-Mains will advance to the Main Event, while the drivers that fail to make the big show will compete in a 50-lap event before the Main Event.

Here are the full results from the Bill Bigley Sr. Memorial 128 qualifying session:

PosNo.DriverLaptimeDiffSpeedBest LapLaps
155Michael Atwell14.458--93.37435
237Michael Goddard14.4930.03593.14835
391Ty Majeski14.5200.06292.97545
45Albert Francis14.5300.07292.91135
517Nick Neri14.5530.09592.76435
615Gabe Sommers14.5750.11792.62455
730Jesse Dutilly14.5990.14192.47236
89Derek Kraus14.6300.17292.27646
910George Gorham Jr.14.6420.18492.20155
1067Colin Allman14.6550.19792.11935
112Michael Bilderback14.6590.20192.09445
1220Anthony Sergi14.6620.20492.07525
1369Michael Hinde14.6720.21492.01225
1414Austin Nason14.6790.22191.96855
1528Dylan Bigley14.6870.22991.91835
1633Daniel Webster14.6950.23791.86835
174Scotty Tomasik14.7300.27291.65045
1859Dustin Dunn14.7460.28891.55045
1958cRich Clouser14.7460.28891.55055
2027Cody Krucker14.7610.30391.45745
2199Cody Martell14.7850.32791.30955
221Nick Sweet14.8320.37491.01945
2374Johnny Kay14.8460.38890.93435
2462Corey Crisafulli14.8660.40890.81145
2513Granger Perra14.9180.46090.49545
2694Keith Roggen14.9210.46390.47735
2772Chad Chastain14.9550.49790.27155
2847xKeith Zavrel15.0260.56889.84445
290xRyan Walters15.0310.57389.81455
3028RChad Rutherford15.0510.59389.69525
3178Cody Coffman15.0960.63889.42845
3296John Nutley15.1020.64489.39255
3315LSean LeMaster15.1070.64989.36355
3411David Weaver15.2110.75388.75235
3558John Coffman15.2460.78888.54866
3682Chris McIntyre15.4961.03887.11956
Toby Christie
Toby Christie
Toby is the Founder, and Editor-in-Chief of Toby is also the co-host of The Final Lap Weekly Podcast. Additionally, he is a NMPA (National Motorsports Press Association) award-winning writer, and has followed the sport as a fan since 1993.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.


Stay Connected


Latest Articles