Sunday, May 28, 2023

John Hunter Nemechek Demolishes Competition For Talladega Truck Series Pole

John Hunter Nemechek Talladega Superspeedway pole 2022
John Hunter Nemechek scored his seventh pole of the 2022 NASCAR Camping World Truck Series with a blistering lap in qualifying at Talladega Superspeedway. Photo credit: LAT Images, NKP, Courtesy of Toyota Racing

John Hunter Nemechek has been a qualifying machine during the 2022 NASCAR Camping World Truck Series season. On Friday, at Talladega Superspeedway, Nemechek laid down a blistering lap in Round 2 of qualifying to capture his seventh pole position of the year.

Nemechek’s lap, which clocked in at 53.567 sec. / 178.767 mph, was more than three-tenths of a second faster than his Kyle Busch Motorsports teammate Chandler Smith, who qualified in the runner-up spot in the No. 18 Toyota Tundra.

The 25-year-old driver of the No. 4 Toyota Tundra finds himself one point outside the cutline on the NASCAR Camping World Truck Series Playoffs grid with two races left in the Round of 8.

A win this weekend would auto-advance Nemechek to the Championship 4 race at Phoenix Raceway no matter what happens in the penultimate event at Homestead-Miami Speedway on October 22nd.

Behind the KBM duo of Nemechek and Smith on the starting grid will be Niece Motorsports’ Carson Hocevar, who is still in search of his first-career NCWTS victory.

Playoff contender Zane Smith qualified in fourth and Matt Crafton will roll from the fifth spot in Saturday’s Chevy Silverado 250.

Ty Majeski (Playoff contender), Colby Howard, Derek Kraus, Jordan Anderson and Ryan Preece rounded out the top-10 starters for Saturday’s event.

Here is the complete starting lineup, as well as the full qualifying results from Friday’s NASCAR Camping World Truck Series qualifying session for the Chevy Silverado 250 at Talladega Superspeedway:

Qualifying Results: 2022 NASCAR Camping World Truck Series Chevy Silverado 250

With 40 trucks attempting to make the field, four trucks unfortunately were not able to make it into the show.

The drivers and teams that will go home are the No. 46 G2G Racing entry driven by Tim Viens, the No. 12 Young’s Motorsports entry driven by Spencer Boyd, the No. 33 Reaume Brothers Racing entry driven by Jason White and the No. 43 Reaume Brothers Racing entry driven by Natalie Decker.

Toby Christie
Toby Christie
Toby is the Founder, and Editor-in-Chief of Toby is also the co-host of The Final Lap Weekly Podcast. Additionally, he is a NMPA (National Motorsports Press Association) award-winning writer, and has followed the sport as a fan since 1993.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Stay Connected


Latest Articles