Monday, December 5, 2022

DJ Kennington Outduels Andrew Ranger in Wild Overtime of First Twin 125 at Saskatoon

DJ Kennington NASCAR Pinty's Series Leland Industrial Twin 125s Saskatoon Andrew Ranger
D.J. Kennington stole the win of Wednesday night’s Leland Industrial Twin 125s opener from Andrew Ranger in an overtime finish.

Andrew Ranger dominated Wednesday afternoon’s NASCAR Pinty’s Series opening Leland Industries Twin 125 at Sutherland Automotive Speedway, but it was D.J. Kennington who snuck past on an overtime finish to score the race win.

“Just had a really good drive up on the top side and it’s really good to see this Castrol Edge Dodge back in victory lane, man,” Kennington said following the race.

For Kennington, this is his 24th-career victory in the NASCAR Pinty’s Series, which is second all-time to Ranger (31).

Ranger took the lead with 77 laps to go in the 133 lap contest, and held the lead all the way until the final lap of the event.

Here is video of the overtime finish, where Kennington took the victory:

Marc-Antoine Camirand finished behind the two winningest drivers in series history in third, Kyle Steckly came home in fourth and polesitter Treyton Lapcevich came home in fifth despite being involved in a massive crash early in the race.

Dexter Stacey, Alex Tagliani, L.P. Dumoulin, Brett Taylor and J.P. Bergeron rounded out the top-10 finishers.

Here are the full race results from the first NASCAR Pinty’s Series Twin 125 at Saskatoon:

PosStNo.DriverSponsorMakeLapsBest Lap
1917D.J. KenningtonCastrol Edge / Wilride / Fuel DonkeyDodge13314.997
2227Andrew RangerGM Paille Chevrolet CanadaChevrolet13315.051
31096Marc-Antoine CamirandGM Paille Chevrolet CanadaChevrolet13315.135
4422Kyle StecklyAPC Auto Parts / Wing N' It RestaurantsChevrolet13315.118
5120Treyton LapcevichFMB / RGC Sports / Qwick WickChevrolet13315.034
61392Dexter StaceyBully's Truck Stop / K Fibre OpticChevrolet13315.251
7618Alex TaglianiViagra / St. Hubert / Qwick Wick / NTNChevrolet13315.150
81547L.P. DumoulinWeatherTech / BellemareDodge13315.191
9173Brett TaylorTCB Trailers / Fast Eddie SpeedwearChevrolet13315.231
10181J.P. BergeronProlon / Rousseau MetalsFord13315.380
111428Matthew ShirleyProvincial Vodka / Elite Property ManagementDodge13315.534
121264Mark DilleyLeland / IHL GroupChevrolet13315.186
131646Jamie KrzysikKrown-Pel Ventures / BerMar RewindChevrolet13315.391
141159Gary KluttNewTechWoodDodge13315.097
1578Raphael LessardTransit / Easy-Kleen / Fast Eddie SpeedwearChevrolet13315.112
1689Brandon WatsonGMS / Shear Metal Products / APCChevrolet13315.168
17210Glenn StyresGSR / Ohsweken SpeedwayChevrolet13315.356
182343Shantel KalikaAGIDodge13215.465
192071Bryan CathcartOK Tire Peterborough / Fuel DonkeyDodge13115.508
201966Wallace StaceyK Fibre Optic / Bully's Truck StopChevrolet13115.366
21574Kevin LacroixESR / Lacroix Tuning / Paragon Auto ServiceDodge13015.046
22380Donald TheetgeGroupe Theetge Inc / XPNChevrolet12114.981
23222T.J. RinomatoRGC Sports / Delta Bingo / VellamoChevrolet8415.459

Despite another race being on the slate for Wednesday night, the action in the opening Twin 125 was fierce, intense and there were a lot of twisted up race cars at the end of the event.

Lapcevich had the early lead of the race from the pole, but his car suffered major damage in an incident with T.J. Rinomato and Wallace Stacey. Despite the massive damage and being a little heated after the incident, Lapcevich rebounded to finish fifth.

The incident with Lapcevich brought out the red flag on lap 87.

Donald Theetge, who turned the fastest lap in the event, which secures him the pole for the second Twin 125, was turned by Raphael Lessard around lap 120. This incident caused a massive pileup involving Kevin Lacroix, who had the point leader going into the day, Brandon Watson and others.

Heading into the second Twin 125, Camirand has now taken the points lead away from Kevin Lacroix. Camirand has an eight point lead.

Here are the point standings after the opening Twin 125:

  1. Marc-Antoine Camirand, 277 points
  2. Kevin Lacroix, -8
  3. D.J. Kennington, -10
  4. Gary Klutt, -16
  5. L.P. Dumoulin, -20
  6. Andrew Ranger, -25
  7. Treyten Lapcevich, -26
  8. Brandon Watson, -29
  9. Alex Tagliani, -39
  10. J.P. Bergeron, -47
Toby Christie
Toby Christie
Toby is the Founder, and Editor-in-Chief of Toby is also the co-host of The Final Lap Weekly Podcast. Additionally, he is a NMPA (National Motorsports Press Association) award-winning writer, and has followed the sport as a fan since 1993.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.



Stay Connected


Latest Articles