Wednesday, November 22, 2023

Josef Newgarden Starts on Pole Position for SRX Heat Race 1 at Nashville

Nashville SRX starting lineup Josef Newgarden
Josef Newgarden is on pole as the starting lineup has been set for the Camping World SRX Heat 1 at Nashville Fairgrounds Speedway. Photo Credit: Wayne Riegle / SRX

The hometown hero has drawn pole position for the first of two heat races as Josef Newgarden will lead a 13-car field in the Camping World SRX Series’ Saturday event at Nashville Fairgrounds Speedway.

The Hendersonville, Tennessee native will be joined on the front row by three-time NASCAR Cup Series champion Tony Stewart. Both racers are former IndyCar Series champions, Newgarden hoisting the championship trophy in 2017 and 2019 and Stewart winning the title in the cross-calendar 1996-1997 IRL season.

- Advertisement -

Four-time Indianapolis 500 winner Helio Castroneves will start third ahead of 2000 NASCAR Cup Series champion Bobby Labonte.

Here is the complete starting lineup for Saturday’s Heat 1 at Nashville:

  1. 2 – Josef Newgarden (2017 and 2019 IndyCar Series Champion)
  2. 14 – Tony Stewart (3-time NASCAR Cup Series Champion, 1997 IndyCar Series champion)
  3. 06 – Helio Castroneves (4-time Indy 500 winner and IMSA Champion)
  4. 18 – Bobby Labonte (2000 NASCAR Cup Series Champion, 1991 NASCAR Xfinity Series champion)
  5. 3 – Paul Tracy (1990 American Racing Series Champion, 2003 CART / Champ Car World Series Champion)
  6. 46 – Cole Williams (4 CRA All-Stars Tour wins)
  7. 6 – Tony Kanaan (2004 IndyCar Series Champion, 2013 Indy 500 winner)
  8. 39 – Ryan Newman (18-time NASCAR Cup Series race winner)
  9. 98 – Marco Andretti (2 IndyCar Series wins)
  10. 69 – Greg Biffle (NASCAR Xfinity and Truck Champion, 19 NASCAR Cup wins)
  11. 5 – Matt Kenseth (2003 NASCAR Cup Champion, 2-time Daytona 500 winner)
  12. 1 – Ryan Hunter-Reay (Indy 500 and IndyCar Series Champion)
  13. 15 – Michael Waltrip (2-time Daytona 500 winner)

The Heat 2 lineup will be an invert of the Heat 1 finishing order while the points gathered in both heats will determine the starting lineup for the feature race.

Ryan Newman won the most recent SRX race at Stafford Speedway after a late pass on Marco Andretti. Newman has an 11-point lead over Stewart, who is one point over Labonte and Andretti who are tied for third in points.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Follow us


Latest Articles