Wednesday, May 31, 2023

Ericsson Collects $3.1m from Record $16m Indy 500 Purse; Johnson Claims Rookie of the Year Honors

Marcus Ericsson will enjoy the $3.1 million payday that came with winning the 106th Indianapolis 500. Image courtesy of Chris Jones / Penske Entertainment

Chip Ganassi Racing’s Marcus Ericsson collected $3.1 million for winning Sunday’s 106th Running of the Indianapolis 500, which came from a record purse of $16,000,200.

It is the largest winner’s payout ever for the world’s largest single-day sporting event, which is from the largest purse in the century-plus history of “The Greatest Spectacle in Racing.” Prior to 2022, the biggest Indy 500 purse was $14.4 million for the 2008 Indy 500. The average payout for drivers competing this year was $485,000.

“The Indianapolis 500 is the greatest race in the world, and these drivers lay it all on the line for a chance to drink the winner’s milk and kiss the famous Yard of Bricks,” Roger Penske said. “This year’s record-setting purse is reflective of their tireless pursuit of history and the world-class talent they display on every lap.”

Among other milestones for the Month of May at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway was having the gates opened to race fans with no restrictions for the first time in over three years. More than 325,000 race fans attended Sunday’s race, making it the largest-attended single-day sporting event in the world since the beginning of the COVID-19 pandemic in March 2020.

Arrow McLaren SP’s Pato O’Ward took home $1 million for his runner-up result, making it the largest take-home prize for the second-place finisher in nearly a decade.

Although he crashed out in the final laps and finished 28th, seven-time NASCAR Cup Series champion Jimmie Johnson earned Indianapolis 500 Rookie of the Year honors. The award doesn’t go to the highest-placed rookie, which was David Malukas in 16th, but instead voted on by those within the industry. Johnson earned a $50,000 bonus for being named Rookie of the Year, adding to a total take home prize of $207,900.

The Indianapolis 500 purse consists of Indianapolis Motor Speedway and NTT IndyCar Series awards, plus other designated and special awards. Purse awards are presented annually at the Victory Celebration, held this year at the JW Marriott in downtown Indianapolis Monday night.

The next round for the NTT IndyCar Series is the Chevrolet Detroit Grand Prix on Sunday, June 5 at the Raceway at Belle Isle Park in Detroit. The race will be broadcast live on USA Network and the IndyCar Radio Network starting at 3 p.m. (ET).

Related Articles


  1. How is it that Rinus Veekay, who finished last was awarded $87,000 more prize money than Tony Kanaan who finished 4th?

    • Due to where he qualified – being third on the outside of Row 1. Leadership Circle money with a full-time entry also plays a factor.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Stay Connected


Latest Articles