Friday, September 29, 2023

Starting Lineup for 106th Running of the Indianapolis 500

The field for the 106th Indy 500 is set.
The field for the 106th Running of the Indianapolis 500 is set. Image courtesy of Dana Garrett / Penske Entertainment

The checkered flag has fallen on two days of qualifying and the field is officially set for the 106th Running of the Indianapolis 500 on May 29.

- Advertisement -

Six-time NTT IndyCar Series champion Scott Dixon delivered one of the history books with an electrifying four-lap dash of 234.046 mph for the fastest Indy 500 pole run ever.

While this marks Dixon’s fifth Indy 500 pole (second all-time), it was perhaps an even more impressive performance by Chip Ganassi Racing who, along with claiming the top spot, put four of its five cars in the top six starting spots. At 47 years young, the ageless wonder, 2013 Indy 500 winner Tony Kanaan, will start sixth in the No. 1 CGR Honda.

Ex-Formula 1 driver Romain Grosjean was the shining light for Andretti Autosport and will make his Indy 500 debut from ninth.

Seven-time NASCAR Cup Series champion Jimmie Johnson, piloting the fifth CGR entry, claimed the 12th starting spot for his debut in “The Greatest Spectacle in Racing”.

Two-time IndyCar champion Josef Newgarden will start 14th in the No. 2 Team Penske Chevrolet, while 2019 Indy 500 winner Simon Pagenaud will start 16th with new outfit Meyer Shank Racing.

Among other notables include Alexander Rossi, who will have to come from 20th if he hopes to win a second Borg-Warner Trophy. Rossi’s Andretti Autosport teammates, Marco Andretti, rookie Devlin DeFrancesco and Colton Herta, will start 23rd, 24th and 25th, respectively.

Defending and four-time Indy 500 winner Helio Castroneves will make his ‘Drive for Five’ from 27th in the No. 06 Meyer Shank Racing Honda.

Two-time Indy 500 winner Juan Pablo Montoya will start 30th.

Stefan Wilson, the only driver to not record a time in qualifying, will start in the final spot among the field of 33 in the No. 25 DragonSpeed / Cusick Motorsports Chevrolet.

PosCar No.DriverTeamEngineAvg Speed
Row 1
19Scott DixonChip Ganassi RacingHonda234.046
210Alex PalouChip Ganassi RacingHonda233.499
321Rinus VeeKayEd Carpenter RacingChevy233.385
Row 2
433Ed CarpenterEd Carpenter RacingChevy233.080
58Marcus ErcissonChip Ganassi RacingHonda232.764
61Tony KanaanChip Ganassi RacingHonda232.372
Row 3
75Pato O'WardArrow McLaren SPChevy232.705
87Felix RosenqvistArrow McLaren SPChevy232.182
928Romain Grosjean (R)Andretti AutosportHonda231.999
Row 4
1051Takuma SatoDale Coyne Racing with RWRHonda231.670
1112Will PowerTeam PenskeChevy231.534
1248Jimmie Johnson (R)Chip Ganassi RacingHonda231.264
Row 5
1318David Malukas (R)Dale Coyne Racing with HMD MotorsportsHonda231.607
142Josef NewgardenTeam PenskeChevy231.580
1523Santino FerrucciDreyer & Reinbold RacingChevy231.508
Row 6
1660Simon PagenaudMeyer Shank RacingHonda231.275
1711JR HildebrandAJ Foyt RacingChevy231.112
1820Conor DalyEd Carpenter RacingChevy230.999
Row 7
1977Callum Ilott (R)Juncos Hollinger RacingChevy230.961
2027Alexander RossiAndretti AutosportHonda230.812
2115Graham RahalRahal Letterman Lanigan RacingHonda230.766
Row 8
2224Sage KaramDreyer & Reinbold RacingChevy230.464
2398Marco AndrettiAndretti Autosport w/ Curb-AgajanianHonda230.345
2429Devlin DeFrancesco (R)Andretti AutosportHonda230.326
Row 9
2526Colton HertaAndretti AutosportHonda230.235
263Scott McLaughlinTeam PenskeChevy230.154
2706Helio CastronevesMeyer Shank RacingHonda229.630
Row 10
2814Kyle Kirkwood (R)AJ Foyt RacingChevy229.406
294Dalton KellettAJ Foyt RacingChevy228.916
306Juan Pablo MontoyaArrow McLaren SPChevy228.622
Row 11
3130Christian Lundgaard (R)Rahal Letterman Lanigan RacingHonda227.053
3245Jack HarveyRahal Letterman Lanigan RacingHonda226.851
3325Stefan WilsonDragonSpeed / Cusick MotorsportsChevyNo Time

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Stay Connected


Latest Articles