Sunday, March 26, 2023

Zane Smith Dominates to Score Truck Series Win at Kansas, Third Win of Season

Zane Smith wins Kansas 2022 truck series nascar news
Zane Smith absolutely dominated for his third NASCAR Camping World Truck Series victory of the 2022 season in Saturday night’s race at Kansas Speedway. Photo by Sean Gardner/Getty Images

Zane Smith had an incredible, and nearly perfect race in Saturday night’s NASCAR Camping World Truck Series Heart of America 200 at Kansas Speedway.

The driver of the No. 38 Front Row Motorsports Ford F-150 absolutely dominated by leading 108 laps, scoring the Stage 2 win and ultimately holding off Ty Majeski on a late-race restart for his third victory of the season.

For Smith, the 108 laps he led on the night was a career-high, and he admits this victory came pretty easy. However, if there was one more restart, he may not have been so lucky.

“What a track record with Speedco and Love’s. So dang cool,” Smith said. “That was one of my easier ones that I’ve ever had to win. That late race restart, scared me a little. Good thing I didn’t have another one because I was stuck in fourth [gear], so, sorry for no burnout.”

Majeski finished just over a second and a half behind Smith in the runner-up spot. The runner-up finish was Majeski’s career-best finish in 28-career starts in NASCAR Camping World Truck Series competition.

Behind Smith and Majeski were Grant Enfinger, Chandler Smith and Christian Eckes inside the top-five.

John Hunter Nemechek, Matt DiBenedetto, Derek Kraus, Matt Crafton and Ben Rhodes rounded out the top-10 finishers.

Saturday night’s race was a very calm one, by Truck Series standards. There were only four cautions on the night — two not for the end of Stages. However, it was a spin by Dean Thompson on lap 123 which set up the field for a potentially frantic finish.

However, everyone kept the trucks under them and the race finished incident free in the closing laps.

Toby Christie
Toby Christie
Toby is the Founder, and Editor-in-Chief of Toby is also the co-host of The Final Lap Weekly Podcast. Additionally, he is a NMPA (National Motorsports Press Association) award-winning writer, and has followed the sport as a fan since 1993.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Stay Connected


Latest Articles