Saturday, April 1, 2023

Chase Elliott Added to SRX Driver Lineup For 2022 Season Finale

Chase Elliott SRX Series 2022 Sharon Speedway
Chase Elliott is the latest addition to the 2022 SRX Racing Series driver lineup as he’ll contest the season finale at Sharon Speedway. Photo Credit: Sean Gardner/Getty Images

The Superstar Racing Experience (SRX) Series is building a STACKED lineup of drivers for the 2022 season. Chase Elliott, who competed in and won an event at Nashville Fairgrounds Speedway during the 2021 season, will once again contest an SRX event in 2022, the Series confirmed with a press release on Monday.

Elliott, the 2020 NASCAR Cup Series champion and current series point leader, will run the SRX season finale event at Sharon Speedway on July 23rd.

This means Elliott will join a field that will include Dave Blaney and Ryan Blaney in the event at Sharon Speedway.

“I’m excited to get back in one of the SRX cars this season,” said Elliott, who outdueled Tony Stewart and his father Bill Elliott to win the SRX Nashville race last July. “Last season was a lot of fun and a cool memory for me competing against my dad. The opportunity to race at Sharon Speedway and compete on dirt against the likes of Ryan and Dave Blaney and some guys I’ve looked up to my entire career is really appealing. I’m looking forward to the race, seeing all of the fans come out and hopefully I do well again.”

For SRX CEO Don Hawk, adding Elliott to the driver lineup for 2022, was something he had on his must-do list when he first signed on as the new CEO of the series.

“When I started at SRX, one of my goals was to get Chase to re-sign and run again in the SRX 2022 season,” said Hawk. “Chase is a man that can drive anything and also I knew he would have a huge impact on tickets sales for Sharon Speedway and on the television ratings on CBS. I’m very happy he was able to make this work for us and for the fans of his and SRX.”

Elliott is a champion and 14-time winner in the NASCAR Cup Series and he has five wins and a championship in the NASCAR Xfinity Series. Elliott also has three wins in NASCAR Camping World Truck Series competition.

The other drivers that have been announced to drive in SRX for 2022 include: Tony Stewart (2021 champion), Ernie Francis Jr., Paul Tracy, Michael Waltrip, Helio Castroneves, Hailie Deegan, Bobby Labonte, Marco Andretti, Greg Biffle, Peyton Sellers, Ryan Hunter-Reay, Ryan Newman, Ken Schrader, Ryan Blaney, Dave Blaney, Bill Elliott, Cole Williams and Bubba Pollard.

Toby Christie
Toby Christie
Toby is the Founder, and Editor-in-Chief of Toby is also the co-host of The Final Lap Weekly Podcast. Additionally, he is a NMPA (National Motorsports Press Association) award-winning writer, and has followed the sport as a fan since 1993.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Stay Connected


Latest Articles