Thursday, June 1, 2023

32 Entries Confirmed for Next Week’s Open Test at IMS

Ed Carpenter leads field during testing at Indianapolis Motor Speedway.
The open test next week at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway will feature 32 entries for next month’s Indianapolis 500. Image courtesy of Joe Skibinski / Penske Entertainment

Each of the 32 confirmed entries for the 106th Running of the Indianapolis 500 are set to take part in next week’s open test, set for April 20-21.

The full-time regulars of the NTT IndyCar Series are joined by an influx of other notables, including two-time Indy 500 champion Juan Pablo Montoya and 2013 Indy 500 winner Tony Kanaan. Marco Andretti also returns to the track where he earned Rookie of the Year honors after a narrow runner-up result in the 2006 edition of “The Greatest Spectacle in Racing” and won the pole in 2020.

Others making an appearance include the Dreyer & Reinbold duo of Sage Karam and Santino Ferrucci. Karam charged from 31st to finish seventh in last year’s Indy 500, while Ferrucci has scored three top 10s in as many appearances, with a best result of fourth in 2020 (with Dale Coyne Racing).

A.J. Foyt Racing will be have three cars running the 2.5-mile superspeedway as JR Hildebrand reassumes his role as the oval maestro for the No. 11 entry, opposite of the road and street schedule for rookie Tatiana Calderon. Ed Carpenter, a three-time Indy 500 pole-sitter, will also continue the theme of running the oval schedule, occupying the new-for-this-year No. 33 entry that he ran last month at Texas.

Lastly, seven-time NASCAR Cup Series champion Jimmie Johnson will be among those needing to complete the Rookie Orientation Program ahead of an official debut in IndyCar’s crown jewel event. Johnson joins a bolstered list of drivers vying for rookie honors that includes ex-Formula 1 veteran Romain Grosjean and reigning Indy Lights champion Kyle Kirkwood, along with Callum Ilott, Christian Lundgaard, David Malukas and Devlin DeFrancesco.

The slate of on-track begins next Wednesday at 11 a.m. ET and will run until 6 p.m., with veterans taking to the oval for the opening two hours, followed by the Rookie Orientation Program and refresher tests from 1-3 p.m. Then, the track will be available for all participants for the final three hours.

The track will be open to all cars from 10 a.m.-4 p.m. on Thursday.

A.J. Foyt Racing
Dalton Kellett, No. 4 Chevrolet
JR Hildebrand, No. 11 Chevrolet
Kyle Kirkwood, No. 14 Chevrolet

Andretti Autosport
Colton Herta, No. 26 Honda
Alexander Rossi, No. 27 Honda
Romain Grosjean, No. 28 Honda
Devlin DeFrancesco, No. 29 Honda
Marco Andretti, No. 98 Honda

Arrow McLaren SP
Patricio O’Ward, No. 5 Chevrolet
Juan Pablo Montoya, No. 6 Chevrolet
Felix Rosenqvist, No. 7 Chevrolet

Chip Ganassi Racing
Marcus Ericsson, No. 8 Honda
Scott Dixon, No. 9 Honda
Alex Palou, No. 10 Honda
Jimmie Johnson, No. 48 Honda
Tony Kanaan, No. XX, Honda

Dale Coyne Racing
David Malukas, No. 18 Honda
Takuma Sato, No. 51 Honda

Dreyer & Reinbold Racing
Santino Ferrucci, No. 23 Chevrolet
Sage Karam, No. 24 Chevrolet

Ed Carpenter Racing
Conor Daly, No. 20 Chevrolet
Rinus VeeKay, No. 21 Chevrolet
Ed Carpenter, No. 33 Chevrolet

Juncos Hollinger Racing
Callum Ilott, No. 77 Chevrolet

Meyer Shank Racing
Helio Castroneves, No. 06 Honda
Simon Pagenaud, No. 60 Honda

Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing
Graham Rahal, No. 15 Honda
Christian Lundgaard, No. 30 Honda
Jack Harvey, No. 45 Honda

Team Penske
Josef Newgarden, No. 2 Chevrolet
Scott McLaughlin, No. 3 Chevrolet
Will Power, No. 12 Chevrolet

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Stay Connected


Latest Articles