Tuesday, February 7, 2023

Corey Heim Dominates ARCA Race at Daytona, Goes Back-to-Back for Venturini Motorsports

PC: RJ Starcevic |

Over the last three years, Venturini Motorsports has been nearly untouchable on the superspeedways in the ARCA Menards Series, a trend that continued in Saturday’s Lucas Oil 200 Driven by General Tire.

Corey Heim – who earned the pole position in the No. 20 Crescent Tools Toyota Camry — led an astonishing 74 of 80 laps in the event, the most any driver has led in an event at Daytona since 2006.

Heim, along with teammates Gus Dean and Parker Chase, paced the field for the majority of the event, relinquishing the lead once for a six-lap period under caution, where the trio elected to come down pit road. However, Heim was able to reclaim the lead within a lap.

The event was brought to a pacing speed four times for a total of 27 laps. The first time, on lap 22 was for a single-car spin by Eric Caudell in turn three.

After the scheduled halfway break at lap 40, the pack became tighter, ultimately creating the only multi-car accident of the event, which happened when Jason Kitzmiller was turned on the backstretch, collecting Will Kimmel.

However, ahead of the accident, Dave Mader III, driving the Spraker Racing No. 63, didn’t realize a caution had flown, pushing Gus Dean into both Greg Van Alst and Andy Jankowiak.

The final caution of the race was displayed with under five laps to go, when both Scott Melton and Christian Rose had mechanical issues, stopping on the track. The race’s final restart was a one-lap shootout, with Venturini Motorsports cars holding down the front row.

Drew Dollar – driving the No. 18 for Kyle Busch Motorsports — got tipped into the backstretch wall on the final lap of the race, making a significant impact with the outside wall. However, no caution was flown, but the pack was stretched out, meaning nobody could make a move on Heim.

While Heim captured the fifth consecutive superspeedway victory for Venturini Motorsports, his teammate, Parker Chase finished in second. Championship contender, Daniel Dye, finished in third, with Sean Corr and Gus Dean rounding out the top-five.

Andy Jankowiak, Mason Diaz, Dave Mader III, Toni Breidinger, and Ryan Huff rounded out the race’s top-10.

Lucas Oil 200 Driven by General Tire RESULTS:

120Corey Heim80---49
215Parker Chase 80-0.15642
343Daniel Dye 80-0.29441
429Sean Corr80-0.52841
555Gus Dean80-0.97739
673Andy Jankowiak 80-1.23538
744Mason Diaz 80-1.46537
863Dave Mader, III80-1.48036
925Toni Breidinger 80-1.57735
1036Ryan Huff 80-1.60434
116Rajah Caruth 80-1.72433
125Dale Quarterley80-1.76232
1303Brayton Laster 80-2.26531
143Willie Mullins80-3.79030
1511Chuck Hiers80-4.37729
1630Amber Balcaen 80-5.28328
1710Jason White80-10.87827
1827Tim Richmond80-11.20426
1918Drew Dollar79DNF25
202Nick Sanchez79-1 Lap24
2160Michael Lira79-1 Lap23
2235Greg Van Alst 79-1 Lap22
2312D.L. Wilson78-2 Laps21
2406Zachary Tinkle 78-2 Laps20
2501Benny Chastain78-2 Laps19
2657Bryan Dauzat77-3 Laps18
2707Brian Kaltreider76-4 Laps17
2848Brad Smith76-4 Laps16
290Con Nicolopoulos76-4 Laps15
3069Scott Melton75DNF14
3142Christian Rose 73DNF13
3232Max Gutierrez 63-17 Laps12
3394Bryce Haugeberg 61-19 Laps11
3497Jason Kitzmiller51DNF10
3568Will Kimmel50DNF9
367Eric Caudell21DNF8
Joseph Srigley
Joseph Srigley
University of Windsor | Business Administration - Supply Chain & Data Analytics Editor at

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.


Stay Connected


Latest Articles