Wednesday, May 31, 2023

Jerry Baxter Moving to Tanner Gray, No. 15 David Gilliland Racing Truck Team in 2022

Jerry Baxter will move over to David Gilliland Racing as the crew chief for Tanner Gray in 2022. Photo Credit: David Gilliland Racing.

Jerry Baxter will officially move to David Gilliland Racing’s No. 15 NASCAR Camping World Truck Series team to be the crew chief for Tanner Gray in 2022. The team made the announcement in the form of a press release on Thursday.

“I’m thrilled to be joining DGR and working with Tanner,” said Baxter in the team release. “Tanner is a great young man and he’s eager to perform well behind the wheel. I’m looking forward to working with him and helping him get to the next level.”

Baxter, who has served as the crew chief for the No. 43 Richard Petty Motorsports team in the NASCAR Cup Series since 2020, was announced to not be returning for the 2022 season, as the team had signed Dave Elenz as the new crew chief for Erik Jones in 2022.

But Baxter wasn’t searching for a job long as he has landed at DGR. Gray is chomping at the bit to get to work with his new crew chief.

“I can’t wait to work with Jerry,” said Gray. “He has a lot of experience across the sport and a proven track record in the Truck Series. I’m still learning week in and week out, so it will be nice to have consistency next season with a veteran voice in my ear. I’m excited to work together to get the No. 15 Ford Performance F-150 running up front where it belongs.”

Baxter, who has scored 16 wins in the NASCAR Camping World Truck Series over the years, brings a treasure trove of knowledge and experience to the pitbox at DGR.

“Jerry’s passion and history with the Truck Series will be a great addition to DGR,” said David Gilliland, co-owner of David Gilliland Racing. “His experience will be able to provide Tanner with the tools he needs to be a successful driver.”

The 63-year old Baxter will now look to help the 22-year old Gray turn the corner in his NASCAR career.

Toby Christie
Toby Christie
Toby is the Founder, and Editor-in-Chief of Toby is also the co-host of The Final Lap Weekly Podcast. Additionally, he is a NMPA (National Motorsports Press Association) award-winning writer, and has followed the sport as a fan since 1993.

Related Articles


Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Stay Connected


Latest Articles