Sunday, March 26, 2023

Todd Gilliland, Front Row Motorsports Start Quest for Owner’s Title with Fast Time in Phoenix Practice

DAYTONA BEACH, FLORIDA – FEBRUARY 12: Todd Gilliland, driver of the #38 Speedco Ford, waits on the grid during qualifying for the NASCAR Camping World Truck Series NextEra Energy 250 at Daytona International Speedway on February 12, 2021 in Daytona Beach, Florida. (Photo by Chris Graythen/Getty Images)’s coverage of Friday Night’s NASCAR Camping World Truck Series season-finale at Phoenix Raceway is brought to you by Lucas Oil, the proud sponsor of the Lucas Oil 150.

Todd Gilliland may not have the chance to win the 2021 NASCAR Truck Series championship at Phoenix on Friday night, but his Front Row Motorsports No. 38 team still has a lot to fight for, as they battle for the series’ Owner’s Championship against KBM’s No. 4, ThorSport’s No. 99, and GMS’ No. 21.

The single-track operation got their weekend off to a fantastic start, leading the series’ only practice session for the Lucas Oil 150 at Phoenix Raceway, putting down a fast time of 26.501 seconds / 135.843mph late in the session.

Sheldon Creed clocked the second-fastest lap time of the session, while Creed’s teammate Tyler Ankrum led the majority of the session, but ended up in third. Chandler Smith and ‘Championship 4’ contender Ben Rhodes rounded out the top-five.

Tanner Gray, Christian Eckes, Jack Wood, John Hunter Nemechek, and Stewart Friesen rounded out the top-10 times in the 50-minute session.

Click Here for the full final practice results for Friday’s NASCAR Camping World Truck Series Championship race at Phoenix Raceway:

Final Practice Results: 2021 NASCAR Camping World Truck Series Lucas Oil 150 at Phoenix

The session featured a single caution flag in the closing minutes, when Chris Hacker – driving the Reaume Brothers Racing No. 33 — spun on the track. Hacker’s entry sits low in owner point standings and will likely have to qualify into the event on speed.

Other notables include Zane Smith (12th), Austin Hill (13th), Derek Kraus (15th), Hailie Deegan (16th), Matt Crafton (18th), Johnny Sauter (19th), Carson Hocevar (20th), Dean Thompson (22nd), Grant Enfinger (39th).

Both Todd Peck (No. 96) and Spencer Davis (No. 11) withdrew from the event prior to the start of the series’ practice session on Friday morning, meaning only three cars will be sent home in Friday evening’s qualifying session.

If qualifying times were to mirror that of the practice sessions, Norm Benning (37th in practice), Jennifer Jo Cobb (38th in practice), and Chris Hacker (36th in practice) would fail to qualify for the event.

Single-truck qualifying from Phoenix Raceway will take place at 5:00 pm / ET.

Joseph Srigley
Joseph Srigley
University of Windsor | Business Administration - Supply Chain & Data Analytics Editor at

Related Articles


Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Stay Connected


Latest Articles