Presented By

Presented By
Friday, January 21, 2022

John Hunter Nemechek Dominates at Charlotte For Yet Another Truck Series Win With KBM

John Hunter Nemechek, driver of the #4 Mobil 1 Toyota, waits on the grid prior to the NASCAR Camping World Truck Series North Carolina Education Lottery 200 at Charlotte Motor Speedway on May 28, 2021 in Concord, North Carolina. (Photo by Jared C. Tilton/Getty Images)

John Hunter Nemechek is certainly taking an opportunity to showcase his incredible talent and cashing in on it in 2021. The driver of the No. 4 Kyle Busch Motorsports Toyota Tundra scored his third win of the year on Friday night after another dominating performance, this time in the North Carolina Education Lottery 200 at Charlotte Motor Speedway.

In all, Nemechek led a race-high 71 laps in the 134 lap event, and the only time in the closing laps that it looked like the victory would be in question was when Nemechek suffered huge damage to the roof of his truck due to debris from a massive crash between Johnny Sauter, Drew Dollar and Trey Hutchens with 20 laps left in the race.

Video: Johnny Sauter and Trey Hutchens Survive Horrific Crash Late in Charlotte Truck Race

However, Nemechek shook off the damage and led the final 21 circuits of the race to take victory.

NASCAR Camping World Truck Series rookie contender Carson Hocevar came home runner-up. Hocevar has now finished third, seventh and second over his last three starts.

Ben Rhodes finished third and he was followed by Stewart Friesen and Todd Gilliland in fourth and fifth.

Chandler Smith, Ty Majeski, Derek Kraus, Austin Hill and Zane Smith rounded out the top-10 finishers in the race.

Friday’s race at Charlotte featured 12 lead changes among nine different drivers. The race was stopped five times for cautions, three of which were on-track collisions. The other two cautions were the Stage breaks.

Toby Christie
Toby is the Founder, Editor and go-to man for He is also the co-host of The Final Lap Weekly Podcast. Additionally, Toby is a NMPA (National Motorsports Press Association) award winning writer, and has followed NASCAR as a fan since 1993.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Stay Connected

- Advertisement -spot_img

Latest Articles

- Advertisement -spot_img