Skip to content

Cloud Nine: Chase Briscoe Secures Championship 4 Berth With Win at Kansas

KANSAS CITY, KANSAS – OCTOBER 17: Chase Briscoe, driver of the #98 Ford Performance Racing School Ford, drives during the NASCAR Xfinity Series Kansas Lottery 300 at Kansas Speedway on October 17, 2020 in Kansas City, Kansas. (Photo by Chris Graythen/Getty Images)

Chase Briscoe’s incredible 2020 NASCAR Xfinity Series season continued in dominating fashion in Saturday night’s Kansas Lottery 300 at Kansas Speedway. The driver of the Stewart-Haas Racing No. 98 Ford Mustang led 137 of the 176 laps on the night, he swept both Stages 1 and 2 and went on to win the race.

This marks Briscoe’s ninth win of the season, and this victory is especially important as it locks him into the Championship 4 field at Phoenix Raceway.

Daniel Hemric, who has run a partial season for JR Motorsports in the No. 8 entry, finished runner-up.

Ryan Sieg nearly pulled off an upset win with a third-place finish.

Justin Haley and Austin Hill, who finished third in the truck race earlier in the day, were fourth and fifth.

Josh Williams, Brett Moffitt, Michael Annett, Brandon Jones and Justin Allgaier rounded out the top-10 finishers on the evening.

The race saw an early exit for Playoff contender Noah Gragson, who finished last after crashing with another Playoff contender — Austin Cindric — on lap 16.

Video: Noah Gragson Done For Night, Cindric Heavily Damaged After Early Crash

Cindric would finish a disappointing 28th.

Anthony Alfredo walked away unscathed from a scary accident late in the race. The driver of the Richard Childress Racing No. 21 car was sent head-on into the wall and flipped onto his roof. After skidding to a halt, Alfredo was flipped over and climbed from his car.

Video: Anthony Alfredo Upside Down in Scary Accident in Kansas Lottery 300 at Kansas Speedway

Here is the updated 2020 NASCAR Xfinity Series Playoff Round of 8 Grid with two races remaining:

  1. Chase Briscoe (Locked in via win)
  2. Justin Allgaier, +11 points
  3. Brandon Jones, +9
  4. Austin Cindric, +2

—Cut Line—

5. Justin Haley, -2
6. Ross Chastain, -12
7. Ryan Sieg, -17
8. Noah Gragson, -33

Post-Race Stat Pack

Toby Christie View All

Toby is the Founder, Editor and go-to man for He is also the co-host of The Final Lap Weekly Podcast. Additionally, Toby is a NMPA (National Motorsports Press Association) award winning writer, and has followed NASCAR as a fan since 1993.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: