Skip to content

Sheldon Creed Takes Stage 2 Win in Truck Race at Darlington Despite Ultra-Loose No. 2 Truck

DARLINGTON, SOUTH CAROLINA – SEPTEMBER 06: Brett Moffitt, driver of the #23 GMS Fabrication Chevrolet, and Sheldon Creed, driver of the #2 Chevy Accessories Chevrolet, talk the grid prior to the NASCAR Gander Outdoors Truck Series South Carolina Education Lottery 200 at Darlington Raceway on September 06, 2020 in Darlington, South Carolina. (Photo by Jared C. Tilton/Getty Images)

Sheldon Creed had his hands full in the closing laps of Stage 2 in Sunday’s NASCAR Gander RV & Outdoors Truck Series South Carolina Education Lottery 200 at Darlington Raceway, but in the end he was able to bring his No. 2 Jimmie Johnson off road throwback scheme to the Stage 2 win over his GMS Racing teammate Brett Moffitt.

Creed’s Stage Win marks his fifth of the season, which ties him with Moffitt — the Stage 1 winner — for the most in 2020.

Moffitt looked like he had something for the Stage Win, but he lost his opportunity in lapped traffic in the final couple of laps.

Austin Hill had a shot at snagging the runner-up spot in Stage 2, but settled for third.

Ben Rhodes finished fourth, and long-time NASCAR Cup Series competitor David Ragan continues to impress in his first Truck Series start of 2020 as he finished fifth.

Raphael Lessard, Tyler Ankrum, Matt Crafton, Todd Gilliland and Zane Smith rounded out the top-10 finishers in Stage 2.

Greg Biffle, who is making his first Truck Series start of the season, was 18th in Stage 2, matching his finishing position from Stage 1 in the No. 24 GMS Racing truck. Biffle’s scheme honors the fallen Ricky Hendrick’s No. 17 truck series scheme.

While Biffle hasn’t been super impressive, he’s still on the lead lap and could become a threat in the final Stage.

Stage and Playoff Points Awarded in Stage 2:

Finish Driver Stage Points Playoff Points
1 Sheldon Creed 10 1
2 Brett Moffitt 9 0
3 Austin Hill 8 0
4 Ben Rhodes 7 0
5 David Ragan 6 0
6 Raphael Lessard 5 0
7 Tyler Ankrum 4 0
8 Matt Crafton 3 0
9 Todd Gilliland 2 0
10 Zane Smith 1 0

Toby Christie View All

Toby is the Founder, Editor and go-to man for He is also the co-host of The Final Lap Weekly Podcast. Additionally, Toby is a NMPA (National Motorsports Press Association) award winning writer, and has followed NASCAR as a fan since 1993.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: