Skip to content

Brad Keselowski Edges Teammate Ryan Blaney For Stage 2 Win at Kentucky

SPARTA, KENTUCKY – JULY 12: Brad Keselowski, driver of the #2 Snap-On Ford, races Christopher Bell, driver of the #95 Toyota Toyota, during the NASCAR Cup Series Quaker State 400 Presented by Walmart at Kentucky Speedway on July 12, 2020 in Sparta, Kentucky. (Photo by Jared C. Tilton/Getty Images)

Brad Keselowski held on and barely edged his Team Penske teammate in a short one-lap shootout to end Stage 2 of Sunday’s NASCAR Cup Series Quaker State 400 at Kentucky Speedway. This is Keselowski’s fourth Stage Win of 2020.

Here is video of the final lap shootout to Stage 2:

Keselowski was a surprise winner of the Stage, as strategy played a huge role in the outcome of Stage 2. Keselowski and his crew chief Jeremy Bullins opted to wait until the very last opportunity to make a pit stop during a pit cycle near the end of Stage 2 of Sunday’s NASCAR Cup Series Quaker State 400.

The call turned out to be a great one, as Keselowski was still the leader of the race at the last scoring loop when a caution came out for a spinning Matt Kenseth on lap 152. Blaney, who would have cycled back to being the leader if the race had not went yellow, was stuck in second as a result.

Rookie Cole Custer finished third in Stage 2, Joey Logano was fourth and Martin Truex Jr., who started from the rear of the field after failing pre-race inspection multiple times, was fifth.

Alex Bowman, Austin Dillon, Jimmie Johnson, Matt DiBenedetto and Erik Jones rounded out the top-10 finishers in Stage 2.

Stage and Playoff Points Awarded in Stage 2:

Finish Driver Stage Points Playoff Points
1 Brad Keselowski 10 1
2 Ryan Blaney 9 0
3 Cole Custer 8 0
4 Joey Logano 7 0
5 Martin Truex Jr. 6 0
6 Alex Bowman 5 0
7 Austin Dillon 4 0
8 Jimmie Johnson 3 0
9 Matt DiBenedetto 2 0
10 Erik Jones 1 0


Toby Christie View All

Toby is the Founder, Editor and go-to man for He is also the co-host of The Final Lap Weekly Podcast. Additionally, Toby is a NMPA (National Motorsports Press Association) award winning writer, and has followed NASCAR as a fan since 1993.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: