Skip to content

Everything You Need to Know About Tonight’s iRacing NASCAR Saturday Night Thunder at Bristol

Can’t get enough of iRacing while we are stuck in the sports shutdown associated with the COVID-19 pandemic? Well, there’s a treat for you on Saturday night.

iRacing will host NASCAR Saturday Night Thunder, which will be a special short track Bristol Motor Speedway race for NASCAR Xfinity, Truck Series and ARCA drivers who aren’t locked into Sunday’s Pro Invitational Series Race.

What’s the race format?

Every driver will have two timed qualifying laps to determine their starting position in one of four different heat races, there will be four 20-lap heat events.

The top four finishers from the four heat races automatically advance to the feature race.

There will be two 20-lap last chance qualifier races. The top four of each also transfer to the feature.

The feature race will be 150 laps and drivers will be allowed one car reset in case of a crash.

Who will run the race?

Here are the drivers that have confirmed that they will give it a go on Saturday night:

  • Anthony Alfredo
  • Justin Allgaier
  • Tyler Ankrum
  • Michael Annett
  • Trevor Bayne
  • Spencer Boyd
  • Brandon Brown
  • Harrison Burton
  • Jeb Burton
  • Chase Cabre
  • Sheldon Creed
  • Bayley Currey
  • Jeffrey Earnhardt
  • Christian Eckes
  • Ryan Ellis
  • Stewart Friesen
  • Ruben Garcia Jr.
  • Joey Gase
  • Joe Graf Jr.
  • Kaz Grala
  • Justin Haley
  • Quin Houff
  • Landon Huffman
  • Jesse Iwuji
  • Blake Koch
  • Derek Kraus
  • Alex Labbe
  • Stephen Leicht
  • Ty Majeski
  • Sam Mayer
  • Matt Mills
  • Brennan Poole
  • Will Rodgers
  • Logan Seavey
  • Chandler Smith
  • Myatt Snider
  • Scott Stenzel
  • Ryan Truex
  • Kyle Weatherman
  • JJ Yeley

How can you watch the race?

The race will take place at 8PM ET at the virtual Bristol Motor Speedway, and will be contested with the ARCA Menards Series car. The race can be viewed at or on NASCAR’s YouTube channel.

Toby Christie View All

Toby is the Founder, Editor and go-to man for He is also the co-host of The Final Lap Weekly Podcast. Additionally, Toby is a NMPA (National Motorsports Press Association) award winning writer, and has followed NASCAR as a fan since 1993.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: