Thursday, July 7, 2022

Three-Time Cup Series Champion Tony Stewart Among 2020 NASCAR Hall of Fame Inductees


Wednesday, five more legendary names were announced as inductees to the NASCAR Hall of Fame. The 2020 NASCAR Hall of Fame Class consists of three-time NASCAR Cup Series champion Tony Stewart, Four-time Cup Series Championship car owner Joe Gibbs, long-time crew chief and engine builder Waddell Wilson, Buddy Baker and 2000 Cup Series champion Bobby Labonte.

Edsel Ford II, was also announced as the Landmark Award Winner for Outstanding Contributions to NASCAR.

Stewart racked up 49 wins through his NASCAR Cup Series career in addition to his three championships. Stewart was one of the most polarizing characters in the garage area throughout his time and he will be known as one of the most versatile drivers off all-time. Stewart excelled in open-wheel Indy Cars, NASCAR stock cars and as well as sprint cars on the dirt. There is nothing Stewart can’t wheel around a race track.

Gibbs, who was already in the NFL Hall of Fame by way of his Super Bowl winning ways as the head coach of the Washington Redskins, now is in the NASCAR Hall of Fame. Despite only being in the Cup Series since 1992, Joe Gibbs Racing has racked up an amazing 164 wins in the NASCAR Cup Series.

Wilson is a three-time winner of the Daytona 500 as a crew chief. His engines powered drivers to victory lane in the Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series more than 100 times, and he worked with some of the most legendary names in the history of the sport including David Pearson, Benny Parsons, Bobby Allison and fellow ’20 inductee Buddy Baker.

Baker was known as the Gentle Giant and he had a penchant for getting it done on superspeedways. The faster the track, the heavier Baker’s foot got. The crowning achievement of Baker’s career was a win in the 1980 Daytona 500.

Labonte joins his older brother, Terry, in the Hall. Labonte won 21 times in 21 full-time seasons in the NASCAR Cup Series. Labonte’s career sky rocketed toward the late 1990s and it culminated in a Cup Series championship in 2000. Labonte had to out-duel Dale Earnhardt for his title in ’00.

Mike Stefanik, Ray Fox and Hershel McGriff were the three-highest voted nominees not elected to the Class of 2020.

Toby Christie
Toby Christie
Toby is the Founder, and Editor-in-Chief of Toby is also the co-host of The Final Lap Weekly Podcast. Additionally, he is a NMPA (National Motorsports Press Association) award-winning writer, and has followed the sport as a fan since 1993.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.


Stay Connected


Latest Articles