Close this search box.


Tony Stewart Named 2022 National Sprint Car Hall of Fame Inductee


PC: Tony Stewart Racing | Twitter

Tony Stewart, a 49-time winner and three-time champion of the NASCAR Cup Series, has been selected as an inductee into the National Sprint Car Hall of Fame’s Class of 2022, as announced on Tuesday’s coverage of the Lucas Oil Chili Bowl Nationals.

Stewart joins Bob Frey, Eric Gordon, Terry Gray, and Tim Green as the driver inductees for the class of 2022.

Ralph Heintzelman, Walter T. Ross, Dennis Roth, Johnny Gibson, Jack Kromer, Robin Miller, and Walter “Slim” Rutherford, were also inducted into the MSDHoF, under various categories.

The Columbus, Indiana-native is the owner and operator of Tony Stewart Racing (TSR), which has competed and won in multiple different divisions of dirt racing, collecting championships in multiple divisions of sprint cars.

TSR has captured seven owner’s championships in the USAC National Sprint Car Series with drivers JJ Yeley, Jay Drake, Josh Wise, and Levi Jones, as well as five championships in the World of Outlaws Sprint Car Series with Donny Schatz. The organization currently fields a full-time entry for Schatz in the WoO Sprint Car Series.

As a competitor, Stewart has spent the majority of his racing career involved in the sprint car world, racing in multiple divisions before, during, and after his tenure in NASCAR.

In 1995, Stewart became the first driver to capture the USAC Triple Crown in a single season, by capturing the USAC National Midget Championship, USAC Silver Crown Series, and USAC National Sprint Car Series Championship.

Stewart is the sole owner of Eldora Speedway in Rosburg, Ohio, a half-mile dirt track that hosts the Kings Royal, one of the largest and most prestigious sprint car events in the United States. The NASCAR star has also had involvement in the ownership of Macon Speedway and the now-defunct Paducah International Raceway.

In 2015, Stewart made his first venture into ownership of a racing series, purchasing the All Star Circuit of Champions. Eventually, Stewart entered an additional agreement for the Renegade Sprint Series to merge with his newly-purchased series, to run under the all-star name.


share it

One Response

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Latest Post

NASCAR Xfinity Series
Ryan Truex Muscles Past Carson Kvapil in Overtime to Repeat at Dover
Ryan Truex wins Bet Rivers 200 Dover Motor Speedway race results NASCAR Xfinity Series
Race Results: NASCAR Xfinity Series Bet Rivers 200 at Dover
Kyle Busch Scores First NASCAR Cup Series Pole of 2024 at Dover
Wurth 400 starting lineup Dover Motor Speedway qualifying results NASCAR Cup Series 2024
Starting Lineup: NASCAR Cup Series Wurth 400 at Dover Motor Speedway
Screenshot 2024-04-27 at 11.41
Video: Kaz Grala Involved in Brutal Wreck During Cup Practice at Dover
Wurth 400 practice results NASCAR Cup Series Dover Motor Speedway 2024
Practice Results: NASCAR Cup Series Wurth 400 at Dover Motor Speedway

Join Our Newsletter

Ready to have NASCAR news hand-delivered to your email daily?

Related Article