Close this search box.


Justin Haley Posts Fastest Lap in Busch Light Clash Qualifying

Justin Haley posted the quickest time in Saturday’s single-car qualifying session from the LA Memorial Coliseum, granting him the top starting position in the first heat race for Sunday’s Busch Light Clash. PC: Christopher Vargas |

There is a certain degree of irony in the fact that a driver who has never before won a pole in the NASCAR Cup Series, just qualified first in a race that used to be exclusively for the previous year’s pole sitters.

Although, if you were paying attention to last year’s Busch Light Clash, Justin Haley leading the field in qualifying at the purpose-built quarter-mile track probably isn’t a big surprise.

The Winamac, Indiana-native put down the fastest lap, by far, in Saturday’s single-car qualifying session, posting a 13.413-second lap in order to win the pole by nearly 15 hundreds of a second.

Despite posting the quickest time in qualifying, Haley isn’t guaranteed to start from the pole in the main event, or at all for that matter. Just like the other 35 drivers, the 23-year-old will have to secure a spot in the field through his heat race.

Kyle Busch, Christopher Bell, and William Byron posted the second through fourth-place times in qualifying, which ensures that they will each start from the pole position in their respective heat races.

Aric Almirola posted the fifth-quickest time in the session and will start alongside Haley in the first of four heat races. Austin Dillon, Denny Hamlin, and AJ Allmendinger will also start on the front row in their heat races.

On Sunday, the top five drivers from each heat race will lock themselves into the field for the 150-lap main event, before the remaining drivers are funneled into a pair of Last Chance Qualifiers to determine the field for the second-annual race at the LA Memorial Coliseum.

2023 NASCAR Cup Series Busch Light Clash Qualifying Results

share it

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Latest Post

Kyle Weatherman JJ Yeley Jason Miller shove post race fight video 2024 Atlanta NASCAR Xfinity Series
Video: "Next Time You Touch My Racecar" Kyle Weatherman Takes Post-Race Shove After on-Track Incident with Yeley
Kevin Harvick Inc. 2024 schedule and drivers super late model late model stock
Kevin Harvick, Inc. Returns to Full-Time Racing, Unveils Driver Lineup
Daytona 500 qualifying results 2024 NASCAR Cup Series
Qualifying Results: 2024 NASCAR Cup Series Daytona 500
Denny Hamlin Jim France NASCAR Team Owners Charter Agreement negotiations
'It's Disappointing': Denny Hamlin on Jim France Declining a Meeting with Cup Series Teams at Daytona
Report: Dale Earnhardt, Jr. Departing NBC Broadcast Booth; Set to Join Amazon Prime, Warner Bros. Discovery in 2025
NASCAR Cup Series starting lineup Ambetter Health 400 atlanta motor speedway 2024
Qualifying Results: NASCAR Cup Series Ambetter Health 400 at Atlanta

Join Our Newsletter

Ready to have NASCAR news hand-delivered to your email daily?

Related Article