Close this search box.


Denny Hamlin Holds Off Kyle Busch, Ricky Stenhouse Jr. For Stage 2 Win in 2020 Daytona 500

Denny Hamlin and the Toyota brigade spent the entire first Stage of the 2020 Daytona 500 in the back of the pack as they utilized a conservative approach.

However, in Stage 2 Hamlin and the other four Toyota teams went to the front and stayed there basically the entire Stage.

On the final lap of Stage 2, Hamlin — last year’s Daytona 500 winner — held off Ricky Stenhouse Jr. who pulled out in an effort to win the Stage and his teammate Kyle Busch for the Stage win.

Hamlin now adds 10 NASCAR Cup Series championship points to his yearly total, and he will have one Playoff point come Playoff time.

Kyle Busch edged Stenhouse out for second place in the Stage coming off of turn four.

Martin Truex Jr. was fourth and Ross Chastain came home fifth in Spire Motorsports’ No. 77 entry, which is being aided by Chip Ganassi Racing this weekend.

Hendrick Motorsports teammates Jimmie Johnson and Chase Elliott finished Stage 2 in sixth and seventh. Elliott was the Stage 1 winner.

Ryan Blaney, Joey Logano and Chris Buescher rounded out the top-10 in Stage 2 and will all score Stage Points.

share it

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Latest Post

Charlotte Motor Speedway ROVAl redesign 2024 NASCAR Cup Series Bank of America ROVAL 400
Charlotte Motor Speedway to Adjust ROVAL Layout to Create More Braking Zones
Brenden Queen Champagne Tri County CARS 2024
Brenden Queen Returns to CARS Tour Victory Lane, Jake Bollman Scores First CARS PLM Win - Clone
Chase Pinsonneault VL Owosso Big O Classic 2024
Chase Pinsonneault Wins Big O Classic at Owosso Speedway
Ty Gibbs Coca-Cola 600 pole position NASCAR Cup Series Charlotte Motor Speedway
Ty Gibbs Rockets to First Career Pole for NASCAR's Longest Race
Starting Lineup: 2024 NCS Coca-Cola 600 at Charlotte
Cole Custer Austin Hill crash Charlotte Motor Speedway BetMGM 300 2024
Cole Custer on Austin Hill: 'He Wants to Drive Like a Pissed Off Teenager'

Join Our Newsletter

Ready to have NASCAR news hand-delivered to your email daily?

Related Article