Close this search box.


Scott McLaughlin Tops Opening IndyCar Practice at Texas

Scott McLaughlin paced practice for the NTT IndyCar Series event at Texas Motor Speedway. Photo Credit: Rick Lunkenheimer/

Scott McLaughlin backed up his 2022 NTT IndyCar Series runner-up finish at Texas Motor Speedway by leading the opening practice session for Sunday’s PPG 375.

The No. 3 Team Penske Chevrolet went around the 1.5 mile oval averaging 223.747 mph. The New Zealand driver led the most laps in last year’s race at Texas before a last-lap overtake dropped him to second place.

Second fastest was Arrow McLaren’s Pato O’Ward. The No. 5 Chevrolet averaged 223.518 mph with teammate Alexander Rossi averaging 223.468 mph in the No. 7 Chevrolet.

Colton Herta was the fastest Honda in fourth place, averaging 223.318 mph ahead of Andretti Autosport teammate Devlin DeFrancesco at 223.225 mph.

There were no incidents in the session.

Practice leaderboard:

  1. Scott McLaughlin
  2. Pato O’Ward
  3. Alexander Rossi
  4. Colton Herta
  5. Devlin DeFrancesco
  6. Felix Rosenqvist
  7. Callum Ilott
  8. Takuma Sato
  9. Josef Newgarden
  10. Scott Dixon
  11. Simon Pagenaud
  12. Santino Ferrucci
  13. Alex Palou
  14. Will Power
  15. David Malukas
  16. Romain Grosjean
  17. Helio Castroneves
  18. Benjamin Pedersen
  19. Marcus Ericsson
  20. Conor Daly
  21. Rinus VeeKay
  22. Sting Ray Robb
  23. Kyle Kirkwood
  24. Agustin Canapino
  25. Ed Carpenter
  26. Graham Rahal
  27. Jack Harvey
  28. Christian Lundgaard
share it

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Latest Post

Connor Zilisch Adds Three Races to 2024 Truck Schedule with Spire Motorsports
Joey Gase rear bumper for sale on eBay Joey Gase Richmond bumper being sold
Joey Gase Selling Rear Bumper He Threw at Richmond in eBay Auction
Kyle Larson Terry Labonte throwback paint scheme Kellogg's Corn Flakes 2024 Darlington Hendrick Motorsports
Kyle Larson to Run Terry Labonte's 1996 Championship Paint Scheme at Darlington
NASCAR Hall of Fame Class of 2025 nominees Greg Biffle Randy Dorton Ray Hendrick Bob Welborn Jack Sprague
Greg Biffle, Randy Dorton Among First-Time NASCAR Hall of Fame Nominees
Patrick Emerling Goontape sponsorship Dover Motor Speedway 2024 NASCAR Xfinity Series SS-GreenLight Racing
Goontape Partners with Patrick Emerling, SS-GreenLight at Dover
NASCAR fuel saving Superspeedways Talladega 2024 Elton Sawyer
NASCAR Exploring Possible Fixes to Superspeedway Fuel Saving Issues

Join Our Newsletter

Ready to have NASCAR news hand-delivered to your email daily?

Related Article