Close this search box.


Entry List: Big Machine Music City GP at Nashville

Fans at the Big Machine Music City Grand Prix in 2021
Fans at the Big Machine Music City Grand Prix in 2021
It was a packed house of fans for last year’s maiden race through the Streets of Nashville. Image courtesy of Chris Jones / Penske Entertainment

The NTT IndyCar Series returns to one of the most anticipated events of the 2022 season with this weekend’s Big Machine Music City Grand Prix.

The addition of Simona De Silvestro and Paretta Autosport helps expand the entry list as a field of 26 drivers and teams are set to do battle on the 11-turn, 2.1-mile temporary street circuit on the Streets of Nashville.

In last year’s inaugural classic, it was Marcus Ericsson rebounding from an early race collision that also some his No. 8 Chip Ganassi Racing Honda get airborne before going on to score a dramatic victory.

Firestone will provide six sets of primary (black sidewall) tires, and four sets of the alternate (green sidewall) compound. Note the alternate tire sidewall is changed from its traditional red to green because this weekend’s compound is the on-track debut of the guayule (WHY-U-LEE) eco-friendly Firehawk rubber. The tire, which is partially composed of new sustainable natural rubber derived fromt he guayule shrub, was initially introduced during the Pit Stop Challenge ahead of the 106th Running of the Indianapolis 500 in May.

For this weekend, teams must use one set of primary and one set of new (sticker) alternate tires for at least two laps in the race. (Note: A seventh set of primary tires is available to any car fielding a rookie driver.)

Additionally, there will be 200 seconds of Push-to-Pass available for the 80-lap race, which will allow a maximum burst of up to 20 seconds per use. The boost is not available on the initial start or restart unless it is the final two laps or three minutes of a timed race.

The 14th race of the 2022 season will begin at 3:15 p.m. ET on Sunday, with live coverage on NBC, Peacock, the IndyCar Radio Network and IndyCar Live!

share it

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Latest Post

NASCAR Hall of Fame Class of 2025 nominees Greg Biffle Randy Dorton Ray Hendrick Bob Welborn Jack Sprague
Greg Biffle, Randy Dorton Among First-Time NASCAR Hall of Fame Nominees
Patrick Emerling Goontape sponsorship Dover Motor Speedway 2024 NASCAR Xfinity Series SS-GreenLight Racing
Goontape Partners with Patrick Emerling, SS-GreenLight at Dover
NASCAR fuel saving Superspeedways Talladega 2024 Elton Sawyer
NASCAR Exploring Possible Fixes to Superspeedway Fuel Saving Issues
Sam Hunt Racing Synergy Modular sponsorship 2024 NASCAR Xfinity Series Dover Motor Speedway Corey Heim
Synergy Modular Partners With Sam Hunt Racing for Five Races
Brandon Jones CARS Tour Hawk McCall Motorsports 2024 races Ace Speedway North Wilkesboro Speedway Hickory Motor Speedway
Brandon Jones to Run Three CARS Tour Events With Hawk McCall Motorsports
Austin Hill Nuthin Fancy sponsorship Dover 2024 Richard Childress Racing NASCAR Xfinity Series
Austin Hill, RCR Welcome Nuthin Fancy Co. as Primary Sponsor at Dover

Join Our Newsletter

Ready to have NASCAR news hand-delivered to your email daily?

Related Article