Saturday, June 3, 2023

Inspection Complete: John Hunter Nemechek Officially Scores Fire-Inducing Win at Martinsville

John Hunter Nemechek Martinsville win post race inspection inspection report
John Hunter Nemechek won, caught his No. 20 car on fire in celebration and collected the Dash4Cash check Saturday at Martinsville Speedway. Photo Credit: Jonathan McCoy/

John Hunter Nemechek has officially been named the winner of Saturday night’s NASCAR Xfinity Series Before You Dig 250 at Martinsville Speedway.

The driver’s race-winning No. 20 Joe Gibbs Racing Toyota Supra passed post-race inspection with no issues.

This latest victory marks the second in eight races for Nemechek during the 2023 NASCAR Xfinity Series season and it’s the 25-year-old racer’s fourth-career NASCAR Xfinity Series win.

Nemechek also scored the $100,000 Xfinity Dash4Cash bonus by being the highest finisher of the four eligible drivers in the race.

The only issues discovered in post-race tech were one unsecured lug nut on the No. 8 JR Motorsports car, the No. 18 Joe Gibbs Racing car and the No. 39 RSS Racing car. Those infractions will result in a monetary fine for the crew chiefs.

All results and standings following Saturday’s race are now considered officially, official.

Sammy Smith was the official runner-up finisher in the race, and he was followed by Cole Custer, Josh Berry and Brandon Jones inside the top-five.

Race Recap

John Hunter Nemechek Sets Fire to Xfinity Series Field at Martinsville

Race Results

Race Results: 2023 NASCAR Xfinity Series Before You Dig 250 at Martinsville

Video Highlights / Other Race Stories

Video: Joe Graf, Ryan Ellis Tangle in Turn One Mid-Race at Martinsville

Video: Dawson Cram Has Issue, Multi-Car Pileup Ensues

Video: Sam Mayer Flips Off Ryan Truex After Late-Race Crash at Martinsville

Video: John Hunter Nemechek Sets Fire to Martinsville Speedway with Victory Celebration

Sheldon Creed Laments Kaulig Racing Drivers, Overall Lack of Respect After Martinsville

Toby Christie
Toby Christie
Toby is the Founder, and Editor-in-Chief of Toby is also the co-host of The Final Lap Weekly Podcast. Additionally, he is a NMPA (National Motorsports Press Association) award-winning writer, and has followed the sport as a fan since 1993.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Stay Connected


Latest Articles