Thursday, September 21, 2023

Entry List: The Gallagher GP on IMS Road Course

Pato O'Ward leads the field at IMS road course in 2021
The NTT IndyCar Series braces for its second trip of the season around the IMS road course. Image courtesy of Chris Owens / Penske Entertainment

The crossover weekend featuring the NTT IndyCar Series and NASCAR on the Indianapolis Motor Speedway road course has finally arrived.

- Advertisement -

For North America’s premier open-wheel championship, there are 25 entries set to pound the pavement for the Gallagher Grand Prix.

This will be the second time this season the NTT IndyCar Series has competed on the 2.439-mile, 14-turn road course, with Andretti Autosport’s Colton Herta coming out on top in a wet and wild GMR Grand Prix back in May.

Chip Ganassi Racing’s Marcus Ericsson comes in as the championship leader, ahead of Team Penske’s Will Power by a narrow eight points. Power won last year’s summer classic on the IMS road course.

Firestone will provide five sets of primary (black sidewall) tires, and four sets of the alternate (red sidewall) compound. (Note: A sixth set of primary tires is available to any car fielding a rookie driver.)

Additionally, there will be 200 seconds of Push-to-Pass available for the 85-lap race, which will allow a maximum burst of up to 20 seconds per use. The boost is not available on the initial start or restart unless it is the final two laps or three minutes of a timed race.

The 13th race of the 2022 season will begin at 12 p.m. ET on Saturday, with live coverage on NBC and the IndyCar Radio Network.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Stay Connected


Latest Articles