Sunday, December 4, 2022

John Hunter Nemechek Pulls Away From Kyle Busch At Pocono For Fifth Truck Win of 2021

Screengrab from FS1 race broadcast.

Even Kyle Busch can’t stop John Hunter Nemechek from winning.

In Saturday’s NASCAR Camping World Truck Series Brakleen 150 at Pocono Raceway, Nemechek held off his boss, after securing the lead during a battle after the restart on lap 53 of the 60 lap event, to score his fifth win of the 2021 NCWTS season.

In winning, Nemechek wins the head-to-head between himself and Busch for the year, as Nemechek won three of the five races that Busch competed in this season.

RELATED: 2021 NASCAR Camping World Truck Series Brakleen 150 Race Results

In addition to winning for the fifth time in 2021, Nemechek also scored his ninth Stage win of 2021 as he took the second Stage of the day.

Behind Nemechek and Busch was Sheldon Creed in third.

Creed had a chance to get around Busch for second in the closing laps, but got loose and nearly crashed trying to make the move.

Tyler Ankrum finished fourth and Austin Hill came home fifth.

Matt Crafton, Todd Gilliland, Stage 1 winner Zane Smith, Ryan Preece and Derek Kraus rounded out the top-10 finishers in the race.

It was a rough day for Playoff hopeful Johnny Sauter, who was involved in a crash literally seconds after the green flag came out in Saturday’s race. After Jack Wood missed a shift, and Chandler Smith made contact with him, Wood skidded across the track and into the wall.

From there, Wood careened back across the track, and made contact with Sauter.

Video: Jack Wood and Johnny Sauter Crash Just After the Green Flag at Pocono

Sauter, who entered the day 15 points out of the Playoffs, finished 35th and left Pocono 28 points behind Smith for the final Playoff spot. There are two races remaining until the NASCAR Camping World Truck Series Playoffs begin.

Toby Christie
Toby Christie
Toby is the Founder, and Editor-in-Chief of Toby is also the co-host of The Final Lap Weekly Podcast. Additionally, he is a NMPA (National Motorsports Press Association) award-winning writer, and has followed the sport as a fan since 1993.

Related Articles


Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.



Stay Connected


Latest Articles