Saturday, June 3, 2023

AJ Allmendinger Survives Wild, Soggy Xfinity Race at the Roval to Collect the Win

CONCORD, NORTH CAROLINA – OCTOBER 10: Chase Briscoe, driver of the #98 Ford Performance Racing School Ford, and AJ Allmendinger, driver of the #16 Ellsworth Advisors Chevrolet, race during the NASCAR Xfinity Series Drive for the Cure 250 presented by Blue Cross Blue Shield of North Carolina at Charlotte Motor Speedway on October 10, 2020 in Concord, North Carolina. (Photo by Jared C. Tilton/Getty Images)

Saturday’s NASCAR Xfinity Series Drive for the Cure 250 at the Charlotte Motor Speedway Roval was an absolute soggy mess. But for AJ Allmendinger, it was beautiful as he stood victorious after the carnage was done for.

Allmendinger’s No. 16 Kaulig Racing machine did not look like the car to beat for the majority of the event, but in the closing laps, he was in a position to apply pressure to Chase Briscoe, the dominant driver of the day.

On an overtime finish, Allmendinger hit his marks, while Briscoe got a little too hard onto the gas and spun his No. 98 car.

Allmendinger then went on to hold off Noah Gragson for the win.

This marks Allmendinger’s second NXS victory of 2020 in his 10th start. Overall, Allmendinger now has five-career wins in Xfinity Series competition.

Daniel Hemric came home third, Alex Labbe was fourth and Ross Chastain rounded out the top-five finishers in the event.

Austin Cindric, Cody Ware, Jade Buford, Michael Annett and Brandon Jones capped off the top-10 in the wild event.

By’s incident tracker tally, 26 drivers were involved in incidents throughout the race.

Briscoe, who led a race-high 23 laps, was relegated to a disappointing 18th-place finish.

This was the cutoff race for the Round of 12 in the NASCAR Xfinity Series Playoffs. Harrison Burton, Riley Herbst, Michael Annett and Brandon Brown were eliminated from Playoff contention.

Here is the updated Round of 8 Playoff Grid:

  1. Chase Briscoe, +37 points
  2. Austin Cindric, +27
  3. Justin Allgaier, +10
  4. Noah Gragson, +2

—Cut Line—

5. Justin Haley, -2
6. Brandon Jones, -5
7. Ross Chastain, -15
8. Ryan Sieg, -23

Post-Race Stat Pack:

Toby Christie
Toby Christie
Toby is the Founder, and Editor-in-Chief of Toby is also the co-host of The Final Lap Weekly Podcast. Additionally, he is a NMPA (National Motorsports Press Association) award-winning writer, and has followed the sport as a fan since 1993.

Related Articles


Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Stay Connected


Latest Articles